Israeli Couscous with Lemon & Asparagus

I have a tendency to buy fresh vegetables and then forget about them until right before they start to go bad.  In a frenzy to use up my over-priced asparagus, I decided to make some Israeli Couscous with Lemon & Asparagus.  This dish is the perfect side dish to accompany grilled chicken or meat.  It’s light and perfect for a summer BBQ.

What are your favorite summer side dishes to make?

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon peel
  • 1 1/3 cups Israeli couscous (6 to 7 ounces)
  • 1 3/4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/2 yellow onion, finely diced
  • 14 ounces slender asparagus spears, trimmed, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Whisk 2 tablespoons oil, lemon juice, and lemon peel in small bowl; set dressing aside.
  2. Heat 2 tablespoons oil in heavy saute pan over medium heat.  Add onion and asparagus and cook until tender, about 5 minutes.  Add garlic cloves and saute for 1 minute more.
  3. Add couscous and broth and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer until liquid is absorbed and couscous is tender, about 6 minutes.
  4. Add couscous to bowl and drizzle dressing over.  Add parsley and cheese and toss.  Season with salt and pepper.
13 Comments

Filed under Main Course, Side Dishes

13 responses to “Israeli Couscous with Lemon & Asparagus

  1. I’ve never seen Israeli couscous, it looks like little pearls! I love the asparagus & lemon combo in this, gorgeous!! 😀

  2. I have never had Israelis couscous before, but I have heard it is good! Anything with asparagus and lemon has to be good though, right?!

  3. That looks so good! I am always looking for more ways to use Couscous. I will definitely have to give this a try.
    Also, so glad I’m not the only one who buys the veggies and then forgets them lol

  4. This sounds like it would be perfect with grilled chicken. I love couscous, but have never tried this kind before. It is now on my grocery list.

  5. What an amazing Israeli vegetarian dish with lemon and asparagus!! Loved the look of the couscous with the greens.

  6. love this dish! i love couscous!!

  7. I’ve just recently found Isreali couscous and love it. This is perfect for a BBQ.

  8. This sounds like the kind of side dish i would enjoy. So glad we still have good asparagus too. Hope you had a great weekend.
    -Gina-

  9. Amy

    Love Israeli couscous! It has such wonderful texture! You have combined it with such fresh flavors here it sounds perfect for the start of summer!

  10. I love Israeli couscous – your recipe looks lovely – very nice flavors and perfect with asparagus. I too have that problem of over buying and then chasing to use up all the veggies! If you like – check out my recipe for israeli couscous on my blog!
    Mary

  11. Oh that sounds sooo good! I love citrus in my rice/couscous/quinoa 🙂 I would love to serve this on the side with some chicken!!

  12. Pingback: Seven Summer Salads — The Kitchenarian

  13. Tara

    Just made this – YUM! Just fyi, the couscous took a bit longer to cook–more like 10 mins, and I had to (slowly) about double the broth ratio and keep testing for done-ness. This may be due to the dry AZ climate; even with the lid, boiling liquids evaporate rapidly.

    Overall, great recipe — thanks!!

Leave a Reply

