Peanut Butter Oatmeal & Coconut Cookies

I was craving some cookies last week – peanut butter and oatmeal ones, so I decided why not combine the two?  I did and I added some shredded coconut for good measure.  Allow me to introduce you to my Peanut Butter Oatmeal & Coconut Cookies!  These cookies were perfect for subduing my double cookie cravings; they had the perfect combo of peanut butter and oats as well as the slightest hint of coconut.  What is your favorite cookie to make when you’re craving some?  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup, plus 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup quick oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Directions:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat melted butter, sugars, peanut butter, egg, and vanilla until combined.
  2. In another small bowl, sift the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together.  Add the flour mix to the peanut butter mix and beat on low speed until combined.
  3. Add oats and coconut and mix with a wooden spoon until combined.  Refrigerate dough for 30 minutes or longer.
  4. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
  5. Using dampened hands, shape the dough into 1″ balls.  Place balls 2″ apart on cookie sheet and using a fork, lightly press the tines into the dough flattening the cookie.
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the bottoms are golden brown.  Transfer cookies to a rack to cool completely.

*Adapted from WS Cookies

14 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

14 responses to “Peanut Butter Oatmeal & Coconut Cookies

  1. These look delicious. I can only imagine how tasty the coconut and peanut butter combination is! Great post.

  2. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

    Talking about hitting all the flavor categories! 😉

  3. These cookies are wonderful. Not only because I love the idea of peanut butter and coconut together, but because you really added some healthy ingredients too. I love the whole wheat flour and the oatmeal. I will definitely be making these for my family. Great Job! : )

  4. I love the fork marks. For some reason I always forget this step with the PB cookies. Definitely going to try the PB and coconut combination.

  5. Peanut butter and coconut?! These cookies sound dreamy!

  6. Nina

    I love PB,oatmeal and coconut- what a great idea! Who thinks of these things! LOL.

  7. Delicious – fabulous flavors – these would satisfy my family! Great recipe
    Mary – I’m enjoying your blog, so glad I found you, I’m signing up to follow you via email.

  8. When we were little, we made an accidental version of these cookies. Making one recipe in the cookbook we skipped to the next page! These sound so similar and look delicious. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Um… YUM! This has to be the perfect flavor combination for a cookie… I’ll take a dozen!

  10. I’m pretty certain these are going to be my new favorite cookie

  11. Great looking cookies! They sounds like a great combination of all different flavors!

  12. I went to pantry to look for something to eat and grab crackers and smoked gouda. I wish these cookies are in my kitchen…I’ll probably go crazy. 😉

  13. Pingback: Peanut Butter Silk Cake | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

