Grilled Salmon with Lime Butter

I love seafood and could eat it everyday day, and I would… if it weren’t so expensive.  Seafood is healthy for you and there’s such a huge variety that it would be hard for me to get sick of it.  I love lobster tails with butter, mussels with white wine sauce, calamari with or without the breading, mahi mahi, fried haddock (hello Doug’s Fish Fry!), sushi, and everything in between.  My hubby and I decided it was time to bring out the big guns and go grocery shopping at Wegmans in Fairfax.  While there, we meandered by the seafood section and ended up with two nice salmon fillets.  My hubby is the grill master, so I knew I wanted him to grill it, but I needed something to drench on top.  I saw the perfect recipe for a lime butter sauce which I brushed on top of the salmon.  Then I wrapped the fillets in aluminum foil and gave to my hubby to work his magic.  This Salmon with Lime Butter Sauce came out amazing and so delicious!  It was simple to make and the lime gave the salmon a great zesty flavor that lemon wouldn’t have.  Definitely try this recipe out for the perfect accompaniment to any seafood dish.  Enjoy!



Ingredients:

  • 2 (6 oz) pieces salmon fillets
  • 1 1/2 tsp grated lime zest
  • 1 large garlic clove, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Purée the garlic with lime juice, salt, and pepper in a blender until smooth. With motor running, add melted butter and blend until emulsified, about 30 seconds.
  2. Prepare grill for cooking over medium-hot charcoal (moderate heat for gas).
  3. Brush lime butter all over salmon fillets and then wrap each fillet in aluminum foil.  Grill for about 4-5 minutes on each side.
  4. Unwrap salmon from aluminum foil, sprinkle each fillet with zest, and brush with more lime butter sauce.
11 Comments

Filed under Main Course

11 responses to “Grilled Salmon with Lime Butter

  1. Lime butter sauce! That sounds delicious!!! We always love salmon and I look for something new. I’ll give this one a try! I have lots of limes at home! 🙂

  2. Oh yes, I’m printing out this recipe right now – delicious!!
    Mary

  3. MMMMMM. Lime butter. NOm.

  4. Liss

    Wow! This looks amazing Kara and sounds delicious too with the lime sauce!

  5. I love eating salmon. I could eat it every day too but I am with you on the cost. Just too expensive for me. I love jazzing it up with flavored buttter though. This looks great for a summer meal.

  6. I adore Salmon and I also love anything Lime so this sounds like a good one for me to try!

  7. Tes

    I did very similar thing with my salmon with a little bit of fresh dill 🙂 yours looks seriously delicious 🙂

  8. This dish looks delicious. The salmon must be superb!

  9. Even I adore seafood and lime butter sauce sonds delicious!
    http://cosmopolitancurrymania.blogspot.com

  10. I do not like seafood! It is one of those things I try to like, and really wish I could. I can now eat shrimp, but that is as far as I have come. But this lime butter sauce sounds delicious. I might have to try it on chicken or pork, or maybe even shrimp. Great idea!

  11. Oh wow! We get tons of fresh salmon during the summer and that lime butter sounds dreamy!

Leave a Reply

