Baked Brie with Balsamic Strawberries & Basil


My mother-in-law first introduced me to brie baked inside a hollow loaf of bread, and it has since become one of my favorite appetizers.  There’s something about melted brie that is amazing.  It goes well with a lot of jams and spreads, but I wanted to try something new, so I made Baked Brie with Balsamic Strawberries and Basil.  Strawberries and balsamic vinegar complement each other very nicely.  It’s one of those weird combinations that people might think is totally disgusting if they’ve never tried it.  But trust me, just make this recipe.  You won’t be sorry!  The addition of the fresh basil and the cracked pepper rounds out all these flavors beautifully.  Also, did I mention the best part?  You get to use that giant hunk of bread from the inside of the loaf to dip the gooey cheese in.  I love this recipe.  Hope you do too!


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup strawberries, hulled and diced
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 circular loaf of sour dough bread
  • 4 oz. goat cheese
  • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp minced basil leaves
  • Fresh cracked pepper

Directions:

  1. Combine the  strawberries and sugar in a small bowl and let the strawberries macerate while preparing the bread bowl.
  2. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
  3. With a serrated bread knife, cut out the middle of the loaf leaving about 1″ around the perimeter and 1″ on the bottom.
  4. Unwrap the brie and place in the middle of the loaf.
  5. Wrap the loaf of bread in aluminum foil and wrap the inside of the loaf that was cut out in aluminum foil.  Place both on a baking sheet and bake until brie starts to melt, about 30-35 minutes.
  6. Remove baking sheet from oven and unwrap bread bowl and top of bread.  Place on a serving dish and break up top of bread with your fingers and arrange around the bread bowl.
  7. Spoon the strawberries over the brie and drizzle the balsamic vinegar on top.  Sprinkle basil leaves on top and season with fresh cracked pepper.
  8. Serve immediately.

15 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Baked Goods

15 responses to “Baked Brie with Balsamic Strawberries & Basil

  1. Sounds amazing, and no washing up, yay! Your photos are lovely too! 😀

  2. Mom Kenyon

    This looks delicious. I just picked strawberries so I’ll definitely have to try this recipe.
    Your presentation is beautiful. I love the plate!!

  3. This would be fantastic, I love brie any way I can get it. Your presentation is stunning, if it helps; next time move the plate to filtered sunlight, and boost the exposure on your computer that way your color is more vibrant, because this is really a great shot. Hope you have a great weekend.
    -Gina-

  4. I love strawberries and basil… such a great idea to pair them with warm, squishy Brie! 😀

  5. Brie is one of my favorite cheese and yet never combined with strawberries! In our house we have 2 strawberry monsters so we have no shortage of strawberries. I’d love to give this a try. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  6. I LOVE THIS! I absolutely love melted brie with fruit! My brother’s girlfriend makes it with apples and honey and we usually have it in the fall but your recipe brings it right back into the summer season! I am totally excited to share this with her!

  7. I am loving this!! Cheese and fruit is one of my favorite things to munch on! With a glass of chardonnay on the side. 🙂

  8. The last photo show us a delicious bite!!! Can I have one please?

  9. Liz

    I love baked brie…and this version is stunning…and it sounds extremely delish!!!

  10. So many delicious ingredients here – I adore brie in particular – lovely recipe – will definitely be trying this
    Mary – I’m signing up to follow you!

  11. I love the idea of baking brie inside the bread- brilliant! Also the strawberry balsamic combo is one of my favorites. I’ve been hearing rumors of strawberries beginning to roll into our markets and this is high on my list once they do!

  12. This looks ridiculously amazing. I am a huge fan of brie on its own. Add the melty gooieness with strawberries – YUM-O!

  13. Great appetizer! Strawberries and balsamic are perfect together, and basil sounds like a great addition!

  14. Pingback: My Favorite Summer Recipes | Happy When Not Hungry

  15. Pingback: My Top 10 Favorite Recipes from 2011 | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

