Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

I hope you had a wonderful 4th of July!  My sister’s birthday is July 3, so my Mom and I baked her this delicious Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake covered in fondant.  Many of you probably already know this, but I can’t stand the taste and/or smell of mayonnaise; it literally makes me gag!  But this chocolate mayonnaise cake is my Mom’s recipe that she has been making for years.  You can’t taste the mayonnaise in it; if anything, it makes the cake super moist and delicious.  We layered 4, 9″ cakes with frosting in between each layer.  We then covered the entire cake in frosting and fondant.  We made a batch of Rice Krispy treats, cut out star shapes with a cookie cutter, and then covered the stars with fondant.  Sorry there aren’t any pictures of the inside of the cake; we transported it to my sister’s and ate it!  Hope you enjoy!


Ingredients:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2/3 cup cocoa
  • 2 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup hot water
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour 2, 9″ cake pans.
  2. In a small bowl, sift flour, cocoa, baking powder, and baking soda.  Set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the mayonnaise, sugar, water, and vanilla until combined.  Add the dry ingredients and beat until smooth.
  4. Divide batter between cake pans and bake for 30 minutes or until a toothpick insterted in the middle comes out clean.
  5. Remove pans from oven and allow to cool 10 minutes.  Remove cakes from pans and allow to cool on a wire rack.
  6. Frost cakes with Vanilla Buttercream when completely cooled.

Yield: 2, 9″ cakes

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks or 1/2 pound), softened (but not melted!) Ideal texture should be like ice cream.
  • 3-4 cups confectioners (powdered) sugar, SIFTED
  • 1/4 teaspoon table salt
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • up to 4 tablespoons milk or heavy cream
Directions:
  1. Beat butter for a few minutes with a mixer with the paddle attachment on medium speed. Add 3 cups of powdered sugar and turn your mixer on the lowest speed (so the sugar doesn’t blow everywhere) until the sugar has been incorporated with the butter.
  2. Increase mixer speed to medium and add vanilla extract, salt, and 2 tablespoons of milk/cream and beat for 3 minutes. If your frosting needs a more stiff consistency, add remaining sugar. If your frosting needs to be thinned out, add remaining milk 1 tablespoons at a time.   Yield: 2.5 cups
13 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

13 responses to “Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

  1. Whoa- so, so cool! I am totally impressed! Especially with those rice krispy treat stars!

  2. I love your decorations!! And mayo in cake…I’ve got to try this out!!

  3. Cool to have a birthday right before the 4th. Two celebrations in one with this delicious cake. I am sure your sis enjoyed every bite of it. I’ll bet nothing is left not even the rice crispy stars… thanks for sharing.

  4. this looks great. i need to try this recipe. i love how you decorated!

  5. mayonnaise in a cake?! WOW! I can definitely see how it would add to the taste, but it’s so different! 🙂 The cake looks gorgeous… I love how you decorated it!

  6. This cake looks great! I bet your sister loved it! 😀 I have never tried using mayo in a cake before! I need to give it a try! 🙂

  7. What a fab cake – great recipe – I will totally try the mayo!
    Mary

  8. I have never heard of mayo in a cake before, but I am definitely intrigued! Looks fantastic!

  9. i am with you mayonnaise… i can’t stand the taste or smell either! it makes me cringe :S
    using it in a cake is something i hadn’t heard of until right now and i gotta admit.. i am curious…hehe

    your cake looks very nice and patriotic!

  10. Mayonnaise! Wow that’s interesting. Your cake is always beautiful to look at. 🙂

  11. Liss

    Thank you for my amazing birthday cake!!! It was such a treat! The cake was beautiful the way you decorated it and you know me and chocolate cake- loved it! What a fabulous and thoughtful sister I have! 🙂

  12. What a great cake!! Such cool decorations!

  13. Daddy Kenyon

    Kara:
    Once again I’m hungry after veiwing your website. The raspberry lemonade cake caught my eye – can you make some for me when we go to Cape May ?

    daddy

Leave a Reply

