Banana Cinnamon Chip Muffins


Whenever I make muffins, I always try to make them a little bit healthier by substituting applesauce for oil or whole wheat flour for all-purpose flour.  I purchased some flax seed meal and have used it in baked goods or smoothies, but I’ve never used it as a substitute for eggs.  So this time, I decided to take my mushy bananas and make some Banana Cinnamon Chip Muffins with applesauce, whole wheat flour, and flax seed meal.  Now you might be thinking why did she add cinnamon chips if she wanted these muffins to be healthy?  Well, please forgive me, but I felt that these muffins would’ve been too bland without some sort of sugary pop.  Hence, the cinnamon chips.  These muffins are still very healthy, so if you want to omit the cinnamon chips, you can.  But I loved the cinnamon flavor that these chips added.  Such an easy recipe and perfect for a quick breakfast on the run!

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tbsp flax seed meal plus 3 tbsp water
  • 3 medium very ripe bananas, mashed (about 1 1/4 cups)
  • 3 tbsp skim milk
  • 1/2 cup cinnamon chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and grease a standard muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Mix flax seed meal with water in a small bowl and set aside for 2 minutes.
  3. In a medium bowl, stir together the flours, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt and set aside.
  4. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together the applesauce, flax seed meal mix, mashed bananas, and milk until blended.  Add the dry ingredients and beat until combined.  With a wooden spoon, mix in cinnamon chips.
  5. Spoon the batter into each muffin cup, filling it level with the rim of the cup.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Transfer pan to a wire rack and allow to cool.
17 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Breakfast

17 responses to “Banana Cinnamon Chip Muffins

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

    Lloyd would go nuts for these! I heart banana anything!

  2. Don’t you just LOVE cinnamon chips?? They are probably my daughter’s most favorite-est thing to add to, well, anything-from pancakes to hot chocolate to ice cream.

  3. Where do you buy cinnamon chips? I don’t think I’ve seen them at my grocery store and this recipe sounds delicious!

  4. Tes

    I have never thought of combining banana and cinnamon chip before. This sounds so amazing.

  5. Great flavor combo and I love the fact that you managed to get some healthy ingredients in there also. Yum!

  6. What a great idea for breakfast. They look great.

  7. Cinnamon chips!? These look amazing! We love muffins here, and love cinnamon. Great recipe!

  8. I love any way to use those cinnamon chips and I also love bananas so I will be trying this! Buzzed and thanks for this recipe!

  9. I have never gotten any cinnamon chips before. I need to find those. These muffins sound delicious.

  10. The banana cinnamon combo is dreamy and I love how heathy these are. I’ve never tried substituting flax seed meal for eggs but my mom always used applesauce in place of oil growing up. Love these!

  11. Mom

    I got to sample (well, a little more than sample) these tasty muffins. They were delish!! The cinnamon chips were an added plus to this tasty recipe.
    Wish I had one right now!!

  12. Can I have one please?.. They look so so good 🙂

  13. Cinnamon chips?! You’re gonna make me cry. These sound amazing, I’ve never tried the applesauce method. I do love a healthy substitute!! 😀

  14. That is AWESOME!!! I love this healthy recipe, will have to give this a whirl!

  15. Absolutely LOVE this – looking forward to making these and more importantly EATING these!
    Thanks
    Mary x

  16. I’d love to eat one of those!! Especially with the cinnamon chips…great idea!

Leave a Reply

