Greek Orzo Salad

I want to apologize for being M.I.A. this past week.  I was traveling for work and then guess what????  My sister had a beautiful baby girl this past weekend!!!!  It’s our family’s first baby and she is absolutely amazing.  She’s so tiny and beautiful.  Because I was so wrapped up with my little niece, I spent very little time in my kitchen.  However, one night, my mom took over my kitchen and made us an amazing dinner of grilled chicken and this delicious Greek Orzo Salad.  I made Summer Orzo Salad a few weeks ago, but the flavors were a bit different with avocado and oranges.  This orzo salad has the traditional Greek flavors that are so delicious and perfect for a summer BBQ.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 box orzo
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 seedless cucumber, diced
  • 1 cup feta
  • 1/4 cup parsley, minced
  • 2 tbsp fresh basil, minced
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • Sea salt and fresh cracked pepper for seasoning

Directions:

  1. In a large stock pot, bring water to a boil and cook orzo until al dente, about 9 minutes. Drain orzo and allow to cool while preparing vegetables.
  2. Place green onions, tomatoes, cucumber, and feta in a large bowl and combine with the orzo.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk olive oil, sugar, and lemon juice and pour over salad.  Mix to combine.
  4. Sprinkle parsley and basil over salad and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Mix to combine and refrigerate until ready to serve.
10 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

10 responses to “Greek Orzo Salad

  1. Congratulations on your new niece! I know it must have been hard to tear yourself away to cook, but I am glad you did. Orzo is a favorite pasta of mine and your salad looks like a real winner. Simply delicious summer salad.

  2. Congrats to your sister and your family! This Orzo looks wonderful – great job Mom!

  3. What a great dish and congratulations on your new niece!! 🙂

  4. Wow–congrats on becoming an auntie! I love my niece and nephew, and they’re just old enough to cook and bake with. (They’re toddlers and LOVE stirring ingredients for baking.) When your niece gets to that age, you’ll be her favorite auntie. 🙂

    Meanwhile, this dish looks yummy! I’m all about feta in the summertime.

  5. Congrats on your new niece, what’s her name? This dish looks simple and delicious, perfect for this heat. I can’t face anything hot!!

  6. Oh I love Orzo! This looks so good and easy to make! Congrats on your new niece… that’s so exciting that you are now an auntie!

  7. Congratulations to your sister and family! This is such an exciting time! 😀 This orzo salad looks like a perfect summer salad.

  8. Mmm, yummy! I love when my mom takes over the kitchen and cooks for me 🙂 These flavors are always a classic and super tasty. I boil my orzo in chicken broth to give the dish another dimension of flavor! Congrats to you and your family on your niece arriving into this world! You guys must be incredibly ecstatic and having the time of your life.

  9. How lovely – congratulations on your little neice! I love orzo salad – a perfect summer dish – delicious
    Mary

  10. Looks like a perfect summer meal!

Leave a Reply

