Chicken Piccata


Chicken chicken chicken… it gets old sometimes doesn’t it?  My hubby’s least favorite type of protein is chicken, especially chicken breasts.  I have to agree with him on that one; I get very sick of the same old chicken recipes.  I was looking through one of my cookbooks and saw this recipe for Chicken Piccata.  This chicken is so easy to make and no, it does not taste bland.  It tastes amazing, especially with the saltiness of the capers combined with the zesty lemon.  Give this recipe a try if you’re getting sick of the same old chicken recipes!

Ingredients:

  • 4 skinless and boneless chicken breasts, butterflied and then cut in half
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • All-purpose flour, for dredging
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup brined capers, rinsed
  • 2 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped

Directions:

  1. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Dredge chicken in flour and shake off excess.
  2. In a large skillet over medium high heat, melt 2 tablespoons of butter with 3 tablespoons olive oil. When butter and oil start to sizzle, add chicken and cook for 3 minutes. When chicken is browned, flip and cook other side for 3 minutes. Remove and transfer to plate.
  3. Into the pan add the lemon juice, stock, and capers. Bring to boil, scraping up brown bits from the pan for extra flavor.
  4. Return all the chicken to the pan and simmer for 5 minutes. Remove chicken to platter.
  5. Add remaining 2 tablespoons butter to sauce and whisk vigorously. Pour sauce over chicken and garnish with parsley.

*Adapted from Everyday Italian

14 Comments

Filed under Main Course

14 responses to “Chicken Piccata

  1. Chicken looks moist and delicious! I love chicken, at least when it is cooked well and flavorful!

  2. Ooh! Major love! I love capers and lemon together. The combination is just perfect 🙂

    I just cooked up chicken breasts last night, too! I cooked together olive oil, butter, LOTS of garlic (4-5 tablespoons), lime zest and lime juice, and cilantro. I salt and peppered the breasts and put a little sauce on the bottom of an oven-proof dish, placed the chicken on top, and then poured the rest of the sauce over the chicken. Bake on 350F for 40-50 minutes and it was super over some rice. I think it’d go well over plain pasta, too, because the sauce is absolute MONEY!

  3. There’s a lot of chicken going on at my house. During the summer, though, we grill more and that helps break up the routine. Still, I am always game for a new chicken recipe 🙂

  4. I always forget about capers!! This looks delish!! Must keep this one on my recipe file list 🙂

  5. Ahhh; one of my all time favorite chicken dishes! Buzzed just cause I love it 😀

  6. Between the pics and your description, I am so wanting to have this chicken! Great dish-yum!

  7. I love lemons and capers together too! We make a lemon and caper talapia that looks similar. I’m totally making this tonight. Really. Looks sooooo good.

  8. mmm..looks amazingly delicious!!!

  9. Tes

    Your chicken looks really moist and perfect!

  10. I’m always looking for new things to do with chicken. This looks wonderful. Thanks

  11. I love piccata and this looks like a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  12. Pingback: Chicken Milanese | Happy When Not Hungry

  13. Pingback: Chicken Milanese | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

