Chicken Milanese

Hello!  I hope you had a wonderful weekend.  Here is another chicken dish that is easy to make and delicious: Chicken Milanese.   You might recall that I was lamenting about chicken last week, but I found two great chicken recipes that you should add to your arsenal if you’re getting sick of the same old chicken dishes.  What is your favorite way to prepare chicken?  Do share!

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour, for dredging
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/4 cups plain dried bread crumbs
  • 2/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 4 chicken breasts
  • Sea salt and fresh cracker pepper for sprinkling
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 lemon, cut into wedges

Directions:

  1. Place the flour in a shallow bowl and the eggs in another shallow bowl.
  2. Mix the bread crumbs, Parmesan, basil, and thyme in another shallow bowl.
  3. Using a meat mallet, pound the chicken breasts until they are 1/4″ thick.  Sprinkle the chicken with sea salt and fresh cracked pepper.
  4. Dredge the chicken breasts in flour, then the egg, and then the bread crumb mix.  Place chicken breast on a plate and repeat with the remaining chicken.
  5. In a large saute pan, heat the oil and butter over medium heat.  Add 2 chicken breasts at a time and cook until golden brown, about 3-4 minutes per side.  Transfer to paper towels to drain and repeat steps with remaining chicken breasts.
  6. Squeeze some fresh lemon juice over the chicken breasts and garnish with fresh parsley.  Serve immediately.
23 Comments

Filed under Main Course

23 responses to “Chicken Milanese

  1. Yes, there are a lot of chicken recipes out there, but we seem to always stick to the same old ones. Glad you have posted this to motivate me to get out of the same old comfort zone!
    That chicken looks so crispy with the sprinkling of spices running through the batter, no doubt it is delicious!

  2. I’m always getting sick of my chicken dishes so this one is going to the keeper pile for sure- looks wonderful!

  3. This looks so good! this is a nice branch out 🙂

  4. Oh my word – this is one of our favorite dishes – DELICIOUS!!! The photo is gorgeous!
    Mary

  5. Great dish to switch things up with. Crunchy and super flavorful! Perfect color on your chicken too!

  6. I am always game for a new chicken recipe to shake things up 🙂 This one sounds fantastic!

  7. I love the crunchy skins of the chicken! The herbs and butter makes the chicken really flavorful and I already love this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Loving all of the ingredients in this recipe! I can practically taste the herby crunchiness. Delicious!

  9. This looks scrumptious and that breading looks perfect! I’m always looking for new chicken recipes. I think I’ll have to try this one next!

  10. This looks tasty but I tend to make creamy sauces for my braised chicken breasts such as Chicken Imperial or Chicken Oporto. We tried a new recipe recently in which I marinaded the chicken breasts in a sourcream/tomato herbed sauce for several hours and then grilled the breasts with skewers. That was tasty.

  11. My husband asks for this dish once a week… I am going to try your version… I need to change up things! 🙂

  12. Hi There, This is looking absolutely delightful. Loved the new combo of ingredients and the recipe is so nicely made and presented. Saving this recipe of urs and wud love to give ur version a try on the coming weekend. Have a great day….Sonia !!!

  13. I always end up making plain chicken on the grill with just salt and pepper. It is good but can get old. Thanks for sharing something new!

  14. I love chicken and I always love finding a great new recipe. Thanks!

  15. I’m 5 years old when it comes to how I make my chicken if I really get it my way: good old chicken fingers with honey mustard (I make my own so maybe that makes it grown up) and ketchup. Panko breaded baked to crispy perfection goodness.

  16. Ang

    I have made Giad’s chicken Milanese before and I loved it! It’s such an easy quick dish on those busy weeknights. This looks great!!!

  17. I’m getting bored with my chicken recipe that I have been repeating day after day. I haven’t gone out of my way to look for a new recipe but I just came across yours and will be trying it out tonight for dinner! Yay for getting out of food ruts!

  18. What a fantastic recipe! This would be great for my dinner party this w/e 🙂 Can’t wait to try it! Many thanks for sharing 🙂

    Holly

  19. This looks great. Love the crispy breaded skin! My favourite way to prepare chicken? Ooo, that’s tough but Chicken Adobo is definitely up there.

Leave a Reply

