Summer Berry Pie with Crumb Topping


I can’t take any credit for this beauty, but my Mama can!  Yes, she made this amazing summer berry pie with some fresh picked berries.  My mom usually makes her apple pie with crumb topping, but decided to use the crumb topping for this pie as well.  I have to say, and yes I’m sure that I’m bias, if you’re pie doesn’t have crumb topping, you are seriously missing out!  Just the addition of that extra butter, oats, brown sugar, almonds, etc. will give your pie a whole new flavor.  This pie is perfect with any summer berries like strawberries, raspberries, blueberries or blackberries.  Enjoy!


Pie Crust (Makes 2 pies):

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup chilled shortening (Crisco)
  • 7 tbsp. ice cold water
Pie Filling (for 1 pie):
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp. cornstarch
  • 2 tbsp. tapioca
  • 3 cups sliced strawberries
  • 3 cups blueberries
Crumb Topping:
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
Directions:
  1. In the bowl of  a stand mixer, beat flour, salt, butter, and shortening until crumbly.  Add cold water and mix until a ball forms.
  2. Divide the dough into two balls and wrap each one in plastic wrap.  Chill dough for about 30 minutes
  3. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  4. Unwrap plastic wrap from one of the dough balls.  (If only making 1 pie, freeze the other ball of dough)  On a flour-dusted surface, flour a rolling pin and roll out dough into a circle, about 10-11″ in diameter.  Place dough into a 9″ pie dish.  Fold under the edges and crimp the dough between your thumb and forefinger.
  5. In a medium bowl, combine strawberries, blueberries, and sugar and combine.
  6. In another bowl, mix tapioca and cornstarch.  Add to berry mix and combine.  Pour berry mix over pie crust and set aside.
  7. To make crumb topping, mix flour, oats, almonds, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt.  With a fork or a pastry cutter, cut butter into flour mixture until crumbles form.
  8. Sprinkle crumb topping over filling and bake pie for 60 minutes or until crust is golden brown.


18 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

18 responses to “Summer Berry Pie with Crumb Topping

  1. I don’t know why crumb topping isn’t on every pie. Anybody who sees that top photo will change their approach to pie and always use crumb topping.

  2. If I was choosing a slice of pie from many-I would certainly choose one with a crumb topping. This pie looks amazing! Thanks for sharing.

  3. I love it when my mom makes yummy treats to share. Pies with crumb toppings are my favorite because for me its pie and crisp all in one. Delicious!

  4. I LOVE crumble top pies! This looks so amazing, the colors are beautiful! I’m going to try the tapioca you suggested for the in filling in my next one; I’ve seen a lot of people suggest it but have always used flour. I posted a vegan crust that I think would go great with this filling too: http://amourbeurre.blogspot.com/2011/07/easy-as-blueberry-pie.html
    Thanks for the recipe!!

  5. Hi Kara, Your Mom knows best! This pie is a thing of beauty and I agree with you that crumb toppings are versatile and lip-smacking delicious…thank you for sharing this treasured recipe.

  6. Oh isn’t that just gorgeous! Mama’s stuff is always amazing, right?! I don’t care how old I get, I will still prefer my Mama’s stuff over mine. 🙂

  7. I’m a sucker for crumble and yours sounds delicious! I could definitely eat a slice of that now. Wish my mum could bake like that!!

  8. I love a crumble topping. A fruit pie sounds awesome right now. Your mama did great work!

  9. Love that you used almonds in this! looks SO good – perfect summer dessert, would like a piece now!
    Mary x

  10. I love crumb topping on just about anything. It makes everything better! Fruit pie looks so full of deliciousness! Way to go Mom!

  11. Hi! I wanted to let you know that I have awarded you the “Cute Little Chef” blog award! Go by my blog to pick it up!

    http://thebaremidriff.blogspot.com/2011/08/cute-little-chef-blog-awards.html

  12. your fruit pie looks delicious…love the crumb topping

  13. wow- the crumb topping is completely brilliant!

  14. I want a piece please! I love a summer berry pie so much and I am getting so sad that it is already august because I know it will be over before I know it! Your crumb topping though looks awesome, esp with the almonds added in too!

  15. Pingback: My Favorite Summer Recipes | Happy When Not Hungry

  16. Pingback: My Top 10 Favorite Recipes from 2011 | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

