Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

I apologize for being away for several days, but I was at the beach with my family!  It was a much needed rest after the chaos of traveling for work.  We didn’t have the internet and at first I was disappointed, but it was actually nice to take a few days off from email and technology and to just relax at the beach and spend time with family.  Before I left for the beach, I made these easy, but delicious Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars for my sis-in-law and my cuz.  Enjoy!
Cookie Base:
  • 1 pouch Betty Crocker peanut butter cookie mix
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1 egg
Filling:
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp milk
Frosting:
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F and spray bottom of 13×9-inch pan with cooking spray.
  2. In large bowl, stir all Cookie Base ingredients until soft dough forms. Press dough in bottom of pan using floured fingers. Bake 15-18 minutes or until golden brown. Cool completely, about 1 hour.
  3. In small bowl, beat all Filling ingredients with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Spread mixture evenly over cookie base.
  4. In microwavable bowl, microwave all Frosting ingredients on High 30 seconds; stir until smooth. Cool 10 minutes; spread over filling. Refrigerate 30 minutes or until set and serve.

*Betty Crocker

16 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

16 responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

  1. I love peanut butter bars!! These look perfect!

  2. These look so delicious. Lucky sis in law and cuz. You can be a relative of mine any time . Hope you enjoyed the beach.

  3. Don’t apologize for being at the beach, we all need to get away from time to time 🙂 Love this recipe and so easy!! Peanut butter and chocolate- I can’t think of anything more delightful !

    Holly

  4. Sounds like a great treat! Looks nice and I’m sure tastes wonderful.

  5. Tes

    What a simple recipe for such delicious treat! I will make this for my son, soon 🙂

  6. Glad you had a nice vacation, sometimes no technology is a great thing 🙂
    Those bars look amazing, anything with peanut butter and chocolate has my name all over it!

  7. Lydia

    You deserve a day or more at the BEACH – what a delicious looking – wonderful combination of peanut butter and chocolate ( my favorite).

  8. I’ve never met a peanut butter chocolate dessert that I didn’t LOVE! I can’t wait to try this version soon. So glad you had a few days away from technology; we should all do that every once in a while.

  9. Hope you had a great time at the beach..thanks for leaving us this little treat.

  10. Chocolate and Peanut butter are near and dear to my heart. I love recipes that use a mix now and then. Makes things so much easier. These look delicious!

  11. Oh I’m jealous…haven’t been to the beach in 3 years! Glad you enjoyed yourself..we all need to get away from our blogs once in a while. 🙂

    PB and chocolate…yes, PLEASE!

  12. Amy

    Yum, yum and yum!!! These looks scrumptious! I have been craving chocolate and PB lately and these photos are just making me drool ;)! It is nice that they are easy to make as well!

Leave a Reply

