Cherry Vanilla Fudge

Every summer since I was a little girl, my parents have rented a house in Cape May, NJ.  I love Cape May for many reasons but mainly because it has a beautiful beach, its streets are dotted with old Victorian houses, and it has numerous delicious restaurants to eat at.  One of our favorite places to grab an after-dinner treat is the Fudge Kitchen.  This place has zillions of different flavors of fudge and you can even watch them make the fudge through their storefront window.  If you have a sweet tooth, this place is heaven on earth!  It smells amazing and the fudge tastes even better.  Even though they have so many different types of fudge, one of my favorites is Cherry Vanilla Fudge.  There’s something about creamy vanilla fudge with chopped Maraschino cherries that tastes fantastic and makes me feel like a kid again.  Since Labor Day is one of the last weekends of summer and this fudge reminds me so much of my summer memories in Cape May, I’ve decided to make a batch to share with my family this past weekend.

What recipes remind you the most of summer?  Do share!

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 teaspoons plus 1/4 cup butter, divided
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 12 ounces white baking chocolate, chopped
  • 1 jar (7 ounces) marshmallow creme
  • 3/4 cup roughly chopped maraschino cherries
  • 1 tbsp maraschino cherry juice

Directions:

  1. Line a 9-in. square pan with foil. Grease the foil with 1 tbsp butter.
  2. In a large heavy saucepan, combine the sugar, sour cream and remaining butter. Cook and stir over medium heat until sugar is dissolved. Bring to a rapid boil and cook and stir until a candy thermometer reads 234 degrees, about 5 minutes.
  3. Remove from the heat; stir in white chocolate and marshmallow creme until melted.
  4. Fold in cherries and cherry juice.  Pour into prepared pan.
  5. Chill until firm.
  6. Using foil, lift fudge out of pan. Gently peel off foil; cut fudge into 1-in. squares and store in the refrigerator.

*Yield: 2 pounds

22 Comments

Filed under Desserts

22 responses to “Cherry Vanilla Fudge

  1. Wow!! I love this! I’ve never seen a recipe like this before, but man does it look amazing! I will have to try this asap!

  2. This is incredible. Bookmarking, making and eating a whole batch all by myself. Thanks for sharing this one. It’s gorgeous.

  3. Really beautiful recipe and mouthwatering pictures..I have no idea what food would take me back to summer when I was a kid.. probably tones of ice-cream:))

  4. This photo is making my mouth water! This looks sinfully good. Yum!

  5. I have all the ingredients! I am making these tonight… How delicious does that look!

  6. hi, my first time here, wow ! this cherry vanilla fudge looks so delicious especially when eaten cold. i can eat 3 pieces of that -so pretty 🙂
    glad i visited, do visit mine too, would love to read a comment from you. have a nice day

  7. This fudge sounds incredible!! It looks so pretty. Any type of camp food brings me back to my summers as a kid!

  8. Mom

    This looks delicious. I love anything with maraschino cherries. My favorite summer foods are anything that is grilled.

  9. I love cherries in dessert. I’ve never seen this before. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  10. I’ve never had cherry vanilla fudge but I’d sure like to try it.

  11. This fudge looks beautiful! I love that you used cherries… I’ve never seen a fudge with cherries in it before. I’ll have to check out that fudge shop in NJ!

  12. Wow, I’ve never seen such pretty fudge!

  13. I love the pretty pink color. Cherry + fudge combination is new to me and it is very creative dessert.

  14. Yumm. I also have summer fudge memories (from Cape Cod, not Cape May) – but I always found the stuff *gasp!* too chocolatey and sickly-sweet. I love how you freshened and fruited it up – great way to make it truly summery!

  15. SOOOOOOOO pretty!! love this – great fun
    Mary

  16. What a cool fudge! I love the cherries studded through it.

  17. Sounds super delicious, something new to me, I would love to try!

  18. What gorgeous summery photos, and a fantastic looking recipe!

  19. Pingback: Maple Walnut Fudge | Happy When Not Hungry

  20. Pingback: Lunatic Loves These Links- Sept 12 | Cravings of a Lunatic

Leave a Reply

