Cinnamon Sugar Banana Muffins

It’s almost the weekend!!!  We have some fun plans in store for this weekend: a close friend’s birthday celebration, a wine festival, a 2-year anniversary dinner, and last but not least… a painting project.  Since we’ve bought our house, the hubby and I are starting to really settle in and figure out what we want/need to change to make this house our own.   This past weekend, I made these Cinnamon Sugar Banana Muffins for us to munch on while running around Home Depot and working on the house.

I’m learning a lot of things about house repair, but that’s not saying a lot since I didn’t know anything to begin with!  My father is an architect and my father-in-law is an engineer, so we’ve gotten a lot of expert advice and help for free!!  My hubby also knows a thing or two about houses, so I’ve assigned myself to being in charge of decorating the house.  I have to say that interior design is a lot of fun; I’ve been reading a lot of books and magazines and frequently visiting Houzz for ideas.  I also had a friend recommend some really cool antique/vintage stores in the area, so I’m looking forward to scoping those out.  I guess if I’d have to sum up what style I’d like my house to be decorated in, I’d have to say traditional meets French country.

I love these two rooms!  What do you think? What is your favorite decorating style?

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 3 extremely ripe bananas, mashed (about 1 3/4 cups)
  • 3 tbsp milk

Topping:

  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 and spray 12 muffin cups with baking spray.
  2. In a bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.
  3. In another bowl, whisk the egg, oil, mashed bananas, and  milk until blended.  Add the flour mixture and beat until creamy and combined.
  4. Spoon the batter into the muffin cups, filling them level with the rim.  Bake until golden or 20-25 minutes.
  5. Allow the muffins to cool for 5 minutes or until cool enough to handle.
  6. Meanwhile, to make the topping, stir together the cinnamon and sugar in a small bowl.  Have the melted butter ready in another small bowl.  Hold the bottom of the muffin and dip into the melted butter and then coat in the cinnamon sugar mixture.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool.  Repeat with remaining muffins.

*Adapted from Muffins

14 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Breakfast

14 responses to “Cinnamon Sugar Banana Muffins

  1. Wow – those muffins look really good. love the dusting of sugar on them!

  2. Jay

    irresistable n hearty muffins..
    first time to your space…love your presentation n gorgeous cliks..
    interesting posts..
    Am your happy subscriber now..:)
    do stop by mine sometime..
    Tasty Appetite

  3. Muffins look amazing, so delicious looking! Nicely done..and both rooms look extraordinary. I love that kind of Victorian style, very elegant!..

  4. That bottom photo is like my dream bedroom. Love the chandelier and furniture:) Your muffins look fantastic! I would love one for breakfast. The sugar on top is very tempting:)

  5. I love dipping muffins in cinnamon and sugar. It makes them so tasty. Have a great weekend!

  6. Please I really love those two rooms! I also love the sound and look of these muffins – YUM!
    Mary

  7. Holy yum. Cinnamon is my fave ingredient. I feel like I add it to everything. haha

  8. These look super yummy! Love the sugar dusting on top!

    Erica from Feasting on Life

  9. Those muffins look divine. I think these should be required whenever anyone goes to Home Depot. That would make me very happy.

  10. Tes

    Oh the muffin looks really lovely 🙂 I like those 2 rooms, too but I have always dream of having a modern home with a simple furniture and big glass windows 🙂

  11. Yum!

    Your weekend sounds fun, enjoy 🙂

  12. These muffins sound fantastic! They must have been just perfect for getting you through all that hard work around the house!

  13. Yum and yum! These muffins sound scrumptious!

  14. These muffins are incredible. You really did a great job on these. Personally I like country homes but not too cutesy. A little rustic with some elegant touches thrown in.

Leave a Reply

