Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese

Let’s cut straight to the chase… I made Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese, and it was awesome!  I was a little hesitant as to how the flavors in this dish would taste, but they were amazing and perfect for this crisp fall weather.  I used frozen butternut squash which saved me a lot of time and elbow grease.  I also added 1 cup of Yuengling beer, but you could use any cup of your favorite amber beer.  A pumpkin ale might be tasty to use as well.  There’s something about homemade mac and cheese that is so comforting and so much tastier than boxed mac and cheese (no offense to anyone who likes this!).  While boxed mac and cheese is a definite time saver, sometimes it’s nice to make the homemade version with your favorite ingredients.

What’s the craziest ingredient that you’ve added to your mac and cheese?

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Barilla whole wheat medium shells
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 3 slightly rounded tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup amber beer (I used Yuengling)
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/2 tsp. allspice
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. ground mustard
  • A pinch of cayenne pepper
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 cups butternut squash purée or 1 14-ounce can unsweetened pumpkin purée
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded sharp white cheddar cheese, divided
  • Sweet paprika, for sprinkling
  • Chopped parsley for garnish

Directions:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Salt it and cook pasta to al dente.  Drain and reserve.  Preheat broiler.
  2. Melt butter in a saucepot over medium heat.  Whisk in flour, cook for 1 minute, then raise heat a bit and add beer.  Reduce until almost evaporated then whisk in honey and milk.  Season with allspice, mustard, cayenne, nutmeg, salt and pepper.  Thicken sauce to coat spoon, about 5 minutes, then taste to adjust seasonings.
  3. Whisk in squash and stir in about 2 cups grated cheese with a wooden spoon until melted.  Combine pasta with sauce and arrange in a casserole or individual ramekins.  Sprinkle remaining cheese and a light dusting of paprika.  Broil to brown and bubble.  Garnish with chopped parsley.
16 Comments

Filed under Main Course

16 responses to “Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese

  1. Mac and cheese, butternut squash, and beer? I love it!

  2. Haha I know! Such a crazy combo, but I swear it’s delicious 🙂

  3. You actually just combined all my favorite things in one dish. It sounds amazing!

  4. Wow, this sounds like the perfect fall dish! And I love the idea of using a pumpkin beer, too! It looks amazing!

  5. What a fantastic idea! Love this – going to try this one
    mary

  6. I saw a recipe for mac and cheese recently that had butternut squash in it to lighten it up. I was very hesitant. Now, I can’t wait to try it! I love the idea of the fall flavored ale in there too!

  7. I love th idea of squash in macaroni cheese I bet it’s delicious. I’m definitely going to try this, I can’t wait, proper comfort food!!

  8. Mom

    I love this combination. I will definitely have to try this recipe. All my favorites rolled into one delicious dish!!

  9. I’ve had butternut squash mac n cheese on my list of things to make for a while now. This looks so good, I really need to do it asap!

  10. We can tell how good it was from this photo!!! I think that’s why food photo is important…. before I even read your story, I fell in love with this! LOL. Now bookmarked and ready to try. p.s. beer? Interesting!!

  11. I made a similar recipe to this last night. Good stuff!

  12. Oh yummmm. I adore butternut squash ravioli so I can bet I’ll like this. Nice work!

  13. I made this on the weekend. It was delicious!!

Leave a Reply

