Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili

I almost fell over last week when my hubby told me that he’d like me to make vegetarian chili; it’s not that we eat meat every day or anything. It’s just that in certain dishes, like chili, my hubby appreciates a little beef (as do I). However, I took full advantage of his request for vegetarian chili and made this Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili. I added some barley to my chili and it came out fantastic. The barley added texture and additional protein. I love using my slow cooker because I prepare everything the night before and just dump it in before I leave for work. There’s nothing better than coming home to dinner ready to go! Do you prefer regular chili with meat or vegetarian chili? Definitely give this recipe a try!

Ingredients:

  • 1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can cannellin beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can low-sodium corn
  • 1 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup dried barley
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon Adobo seasoning
  • Your favorite shredded cheese for sprinkling
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

  1. In a slow cooker, combine all ingredients except the shredded cheese, salt, and pepper. Cover and cook on Low for 6 hours or on High for 3 to 4 hours.
  2. Season, to taste, with salt and black pepper.
  3. Just before serving, top each serving with shredded cheese.
9 Comments

Filed under Main Course

9 responses to “Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili

  1. This looks yummy, with so many interesting ingredients. I loved the corn and the adobo seasoning here.
    http://cosmopolitancurrymania.blogspot.com

  2. This looks so good, definitely going to try it, thanks for sharing!

  3. Lots of nice goodies in this slow cooker – I wish I own one, especially as cold weather is coming soon. This dish will make me feel cozy and warm. Have a great weekend Kara!

  4. Kara, your husband is on to something…not every meal must contain animal protein and it’s easy to overlook that. Your chili, the ease of preparation and the delicious results (as evidenced by the lush photo) have my thoughts aligned with your husband. Cheers to you both!

  5. I am so happy you posted this. I was with a friend the other day for lunch and she ordered chili. I have been craving some ever since. And that fact that this is in a crock pot makes it is a double win! Happy Fall!

  6. Amy

    This chili looks delicious! I love the addition of the barley and the mixture of beans you have used!

  7. Nina

    Hi Kara,
    I’m catching up on my emails and just saw yours. This veggie chili looks like it belongs in a 5 star Mexican restaurant and looks so appealing to the eyes and mouth. I just wanted to let you know I printed it out and will make it for football Sunday for my family and friends. Thanks, enjoy the rest of your week.
    Nina

Leave a Reply

