Fig and Honey Mini Crostatas

I have searched high and low for fresh figs – even at the farmer’s markets, these babies were nowhere to be found.  Alas, I finally found some at Wegmans (obv) and decided to make these Fig & Honey Mini Crostatas.  These pictures definitely do not do this little treat justice!  I mixed the sliced figs with honey and lemon juice and then baked them inside the crostatas.  I reserved a couple of fresh ones to drizzle with honey and serve alongside.  I didn’t have any ricotta cheese or Greek yogurt, but a dollop of that on top would be amazing. Enjoy!
Do you like fresh figs?  If so, have you been able to find them at your local farmer’s market / grocery store?

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup plus 3 tablespoons ice water
  • 12 fresh figs, cut into wedges
  • 5 tsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 tbsp of water
  • Ricotta cheese or Greek Yogurt for topping (optional)
  1. In a food processor, pulse the flour with the sugar and salt. Add the butter and pulse until it is the size of peas. Add the water; pulse until the dough comes together. Pat the dough into a disk, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  2. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough 1/8 inch thick. Cut out eight 5-inch rounds, re-rolling the scraps if necessary; transfer to a parchment paper–lined baking sheet and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  3. Preheat the oven to 375°. In a bowl, toss 8 of the figs with 3 teaspoons of the honey, the lemon juice, and cinnamon. Arrange the figs on the dough rounds, leaving a 1/2-inch border all around. Fold the edges over the figs and brush the dough with the egg wash. Chill for 30 minutes.
  4. Bake the crostatas for 35 minutes, rotating halfway through baking, until the crusts are golden. Let stand for 10 minutes.
  5. Gently toss the remaining figs with the remaining 2 teaspoons of honey. Transfer the crostatas to plates, top with the figs and dollop with ricotta cheese and serve.

*Adapted from Food and Wine


12 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

12 responses to “Fig and Honey Mini Crostatas

  1. I love figs! What a great recipe! 🙂

  2. Outstanding recipe. These look so good. Figs are just so beautiful and tasty.

  3. I have never eaten a fresh fig…I saw them in my stores a few weeks ago, but was hesitant to buy any for fear that my family would turn up their noses. I must be braver. Those crostatas look delicious.

  4. I am not sure I have ever tried fresh figs! They look gorgeous here, I am sure they are delicious!

  5. Mom

    These little treasures were delicious. Combination of the figs and honey melted in your mouth. If you’ve never tried fresh figs this recipe is the one to try. I’m partial!!

  6. Looks outstanding! I love figs and just planted four fig trees so this can be used now and saved to use a few years from now too when the trees start producing

  7. Amy

    These are adorable and they sound delicious! I love the combination of figs and honey, and a crostada is a great way to combine them!

  8. These are so cute! Such a great idea!

  9. These are beautiful! I would love them with a big dollop of greek yogurt on top!! I haven’t seen figs, but when I do…
    Love your site! And the title drew me in when I saw you on Chasing Delicious, I’m a crabby MONSTER when I’m hungry. My friends will all just stop me and tell me “Madi-you’re hungry and you need to eat now!” Granted, that’s an extreme example, but I still appreciate the site name 😉

  10. I have a freezer full of figs and am always looking for recipes. This looks so simple and delicious, I’m excited!!

  11. *Pulls up a chair*- Is there any left?

Leave a Reply

