Homemade Applesauce


I hope everyone had a wonderful Columbus Day weekend!  Remember the 16 pounds of apples that I picked a few weekends ago?  Well, it was time to start putting them to good use, so I decided to make some Homemade Applesauce.  I like to keep my applesauce simple and showcase the flavors of the apples, so I use apples that are specifically good for sauce, like McIntosh or Macoun.  I love to eat my applesauce plain or add it to various foods, like French toast.

As part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker program, I received Bauducco® Panettone with raisins and with chocolate chips.  I decided to use the panettone with chocolate chips to make some French toast for breakfast this past weekend.  I topped this delicious French toast with some applesauce and maple syrup.  It was scrumptious!  Enjoy!


Ingredients:

  • 12 apples, McIntosh or Macoun, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup water
  • Mason jars, 1 quart and 1 pint, sterilized

Directions:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine apples, sugar, and cinnamon.
  2. In a large stock pot, place water on the bottom and add the apples.  Cook on low until the apples become soft, stirring occasionally.
  3. Add applesauce to mason jars and store in refrigerator.

*Makes 1 quart and 1 pint of applesauce

9 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

9 responses to “Homemade Applesauce

  1. Look, delicious. Great use for all those apples.

  2. Your homemade applesauce looks soooo sooo good! I love how you topped the french toast with applesauce, what a great idea. 🙂

  3. Mmm I love homemade applesauce and yours looks amazing!! What a great recipe!! 🙂

  4. I love homemade apple sauce! It has been too many years since I have had some though. Great recipe!

  5. I love home made applesauce. I make and home can some every year. I don’t know why my brain never thought of using it to top french toast. What a great idea!

  6. Hi Kara, Your applesauce looks lovely and wholesome. I did the same thing with the 20 lbs. of Gravenstein apples I bought in late August – after I made a pie or two!

  7. Holy genius! Applesauce, maple syrup and french toast. Be still my heart! I must try this soon!

  8. i like your food pictures and want to invite you to share them on tastingspot.com

  9. Fresh applesauce is the best! I’ve never thought to add it to French toast, what a creative idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

