Pumpkin Seed Brittle


I hope you had a fantastic weekend! It was beautiful here this past weekend, perfect fall weather. One of the things that we accomplished this past weekend was building a stone fire pit in our backyard. Well, I have to give all the credit to my hubby for actually building it; I just helped him pick the stone out at Home Depot. The fire pit is awesome and perfect to sit around on cool, autumn nights. That’s exactly what we did this past Saturday night with some close friends. We sipped some hard apple cider and munched on this delicious Pumpkin Seed Brittle. This brittle is so tasty especially because it has that salty and sweet thing going on. Definitely give this brittle a try!!!!!
What about you, are you enjoying the cooler weather?
Ingredients:
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 12 ounces roasted salted pumpkin seeds
  • Sprinkle sea salt
Directions:
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spread the pumpkin seeds on a large rimmed, nonstick baking sheet and bake until slightly toasted, about 7 minutes. Once toasted, set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large saucepan, combine the sugar, water, butter and corn syrup and bring to a boil. Cook over moderately high heat, stirring occasionally, until the caramel is light brown and registers 300° on a candy thermometer, 10-15 minutes.
  3. Remove from the heat and carefully stir in the baking soda. The mixture will bubble.
  4. Stir in the pumpkin seeds, then immediately scrape the brittle onto the same baking sheet. Using the back of a large spoon (oil it lightly if it sticks), spread the brittle into a thin, even layer. Sprinkle with salt. Let cool completely, about 30 minutes.
  5. Break the brittle into large shards.

*Adapted from Food and Wine

26 Comments

Filed under Desserts

26 responses to “Pumpkin Seed Brittle

  1. Amy

    This sounds wonderful! What a great seasonal twist on peanut brittle!

  2. Yum! What a delicious fall-tastic treat.

  3. Delicious! As a kid I used to love them!

  4. What a cool idea! My husband loves brittle so shall have to give this a go. Thanks for sharing. : )

  5. I love this idea of using pumpkin seeds! Great fall twist!

  6. I’m definitely enjoying the cooler weather- well, not that it actually gets hot here anyways, but I like the feel of fall. Although I think I would like it even more with that fire pit, hard cider, and this pumpkin brittle. When can I come over?

  7. Mom

    Wow, this looks really good. I hope you save me a piece when I come down. Yum!!

  8. Yumo! I cant wait to try this. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Would make TERRIFIC Christmas gift jars-

    Stone fire pit sounds cozy…pictures? 😉

  10. This looks so yummy. I would love to sit around a fire pit with a blanket and glass of wine noshing on this brittle. Aaaah, I can see it now! I would love for you to link up to my pumpkin blog hop: http://lb.vg/7m0d3

  11. I don’t think I’ve ever encountered pumpkin brittle before! How fun and different. A wonderful autumn treat.

  12. How cool a stone BBq and this brittle!

  13. I am going to make this very soon!!

Leave a Reply

