Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

I’m definitely not a huge chocolate lover, but I have to admit that pumpkin and chocolate creates an amazing combination.  I could’ve made regular pumpkin bread, but I really wanted to get that added deliciousness from the chocolate chips, so I made Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread.  Now I know that there are a ton of pumpkin recipes going around the blog world right now, but isn’t that the point of cooking and baking seasonally?  I never crave pumpkin in June or July when I can get some fresh strawberries instead.  Likewise, I never really crave strawberries in the fall when I can get pumpkin, figs, apples, concord grapes, etc.  As for chocolate?  I never really crave chocolate any time of year (I crave things like sour gummies or vanilla ice cream swirled with chunks of peanut butter!).  I do like how chocolate pairs well with certain foods, like pumpkin.  Because of the chocolate chips, this bread is perfect for breakfast, snack or dessert (gotta love those versatile recipes).  As part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker program, I recieved a Tervis Tumbler.  I’ve been using this baby to drink some pumpkin coffee alongside this delicious bread.  Have a wonderful weekend!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

 Directions:

  1. Preheat an oven to 350°F. Grease a 9-by-5-inch loaf pan or spray with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. In a bowl, whisk together the sugar, pumpkin puree, eggs and applesauce until smooth, about 1 minute.
  3. In another bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Add the flour mixture to the pumpkin mixture and beat until smooth and well combined, 1 to 2 minutes. The batter will be thick.
  4. Using a large rubber spatula, fold in the chocolate chips just until evenly distributed, no more than a few strokes. Do not overmix. Spoon the batter into the prepared pan.
  5. Bake until the top is browned and crusty and develops a long center crack, 60-70 minutes. A toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf should come out clean.  Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let cool for 10 minutes.
7 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

7 responses to “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

  1. Oh yum! I love the flavor combos in this bread.

  2. Love pumpkin. Love chocolate and love both of them together! xx

  3. Love this, I wish I didn’t crave chocolate – and I love the addition of it in this delicious sounding bread 🙂
    Mary x

  4. Oh I definitely need to do this! Love the idea of having chocolate in the bread!

  5. I love chocolate with pumpkin too! It’s oh so good. Your pumpkin chocolate chip bread looks so tasty, yum! 🙂

  6. I need to put chocolate chips in my pumpkin next time. I have not done it before! Bread looks wonderful!

  7. I had chocolate and pumpkin for the first time this year and I am loving the combo too! Have you had the Ghiradelli pumpkin spice chocolates. So good! I need to add chocolate chips to my bread. Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

