Italian Wedding Soup


The weather has gotten cold here recently, so you know what that means… slow cooker soups and stews!  I know I’m a broken record, but I can’t tell you enough how much I love my slow cooker (my hubby’s Grandma gave it to me for my bridal shower ).  I try to make as many meals in it as I can since it saves me so much time and energy (and when I get home from work I usually have little of either!).  I decided to make a comforting pot of Italian Wedding Soup.  Italian wedding soup is not only hearty and delish, but it’s the perfect accompaniment to a crusty piece of bread.  I made beef meatballs the night before and prepped the vegetables i.e. the onion and garlic.  I like to keep my Italian Wedding Soup simple with onion, garlic, crushed red pepper, bay leaf, stock, arugula/spinach, and pastina.  In the morning, all I had to do was empty the meatballs and veggies in the slow cooker and cover with some stock and seasoning.  When I got home from work, I threw a pot of water on the stove to make my pastina.  I never add my pasta to the crock pot; I always make them separately and combine them right before serving.  This soup is warm and comforting.  Definitely give it a try!

What is your favorite soup or stew to make when it’s cold outside?

 

Meatball Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup bread crumbs
  • ½ cup Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp ketchup
  • 2 tbsp fresh chopped parsley
  • Pinch of salt and fresh cracked pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. Mix all ingredients and roll into 1-2” balls.  Bake for 15-20 minutes turning them halfway through.
  3. Store in refrigerator until ready to add to slow cooker.

Soup Ingredients:

  • Olive oil for sautéing
  • 1 yellow onion, finely diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 10 cups chicken stock
  • 1 pound arugula, escarole or spinach
  • 1 box Barilla Pastina
  • Salt and pepper for seasoning
  • Parmesan cheese for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. In a large sauté pan, heat a few tbsp of olive oil over medium heat and add onion and red pepper flakes.  Cook for 5 minutes, add the garlic, and cook for 2 more minutes.  Set aside or store in the refrigerator until ready to add to slow cooker.
  2. Add the meatballs, vegetable mix, and arugula to the bottom of the slow cooker.  Pour chicken stock over and add the bay leaf.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.
  3. Meanwhile, boil water in a stock pot and cook Pastina according to directions.  Drain and set aside.
  4. Remove the bay leaf from the soup and season to taste with salt and pepper.
  5. Add Pastina to soup and serve immediately.  Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.


9 Comments

Filed under Soup & Salad

9 responses to “Italian Wedding Soup

  1. i love that it has 1/2 cup parmesan! totally my kind of soup!

  2. It’s been so cold all day today in SF and this is definitely a very nice soup to have. It’s great idea that you separated this recipe into two parts so we can prep the meatball part first. My family will definitely enjoy this soup!

  3. I love all soup when its cold outside! This one is a keeper.

  4. Italian wedding soup is my absolute FAVORITE soup. This looks amazing.

  5. Love that it is soup season again- time to break out the slow cooker! This recipe looks so warm and so comforting. Thinking about trying it out this weekend!

  6. This looks delicious. Love slow cooker recipes.

  7. I’ve bookmarked this! Can’t wait to try it. I’m hungry just looking at it.

Leave a Reply

