Slow Cooker Beef Stew


Last weekend, I went antiquing in Leesburg, VA and Frederick, MD.  My friend introduced me to antiquing when I first moved into our new home, and I must say, it is so much fun and can be really addicting.  I’ve been trying to decorate our house tastefully with cool pieces.  Last weekend, there were a couple of antique stores that were holding their holiday barn sales.  Decked-out barns?  How fun, right?  I didn’t get any big furniture pieces (although I saw so many that I would’ve loved), but I did get a few cool pieces including this cranberry chalkboard for our dining room.  This color matches the drapes in our dining room, and I just love how you can write whatever you want on it; I will definitely be filling that out when company comes over.

Here’s the list of three great antique stores that I’ve been to in Leesburg, VA and Frederick, MD (I didn’t know this until recently, but Frederick and Leesburg are only around 15 miles apart.  Def can do both places in 1 day!).

  Antiquing has nothing to do with Slow Cooker Beef Stew, but it’s the perfect meal to come home to after a fun day of scouring the countryside for cool antiques.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 pounds stew beef
  • 1 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 15 baby carrots
  • 2 potatoes, chopped
  • 1 package of white mushrooms
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 3 cloves chopped garlic
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 2 cups beef stock
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tbsp dried oregano
  • Cracked fresh pepper and sea salt for seasoning

Directions:

  1. In a saute pan, warm olive oil over medium heat and brown beef.
  2. In the bottom of a slow cooker, add beef, onion, carrots, potatoes, mushrooms, pepper, and garlic.  Top with red wine, beef stock, bay leaves, oregano, salt, and pepper.  Mix to combine.  Cook over low heat for 8 hours.
  3. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

*Adapted from Food & Wine

3 Comments

Filed under Main Course

3 responses to “Slow Cooker Beef Stew

  1. Your stew looks so inviting. Perfect for a day of antiquing. Me and my daughter have discovered flea markets. So much fun. Gotta love a 17 year old who loves rummaging at those places. Have a great week.

  2. I went antiquing in VA yesterday. One of my favorite things to do. This looks like a great, hearty winter dish.

Leave a Reply

