Apple Pie w/ Crumb Topping


Hmmm apple pie is so good especially with a dollop of whipped cream on top!  At work, we had a Thanksgiving pot luck dinner, so I decided to make Apple Pie with Crumb Topping.  I know there’s several different ways to make apple pie, but I really do love the crumb topping pies the best.  You just can’t beat butter and brown sugar crumbles!  The crumb topping is also great because it saves me half of the dough that I can use to make another pie.  I was pretty impressed with this pie especially since I made it weeks ago and had been storing it in the freezer.  Sometimes certain desserts don’t always freeze well, but I’ve never had problems with apple pie (knock on wood since I’ll be bringing my other apple pie over for Thanksgiving dinner!).  I just took my pie out of the freezer and set it out at room temperature.  By noon the next day, it was defrosted and ready to go!
What’s your favorite kind of pie at Thanksgiving?  Do you enjoy a crumb topping, a flaky crust, or no topping at all?
Pie Crust (Makes 2 pies):
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup chilled shortening (Crisco)
  • 7 tbsp. ice cold water
Pie Filling (for 1 pie):
  • 6-7 large Northern Spy apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt
Crumb Topping:
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
Directions:
  1. In the bowl of  a stand mixer, beat flour, salt, butter, and shortening until crumbly.  Add cold water and mix until a ball forms.
  2. Divide the dough into two balls and wrap each one in plastic wrap.  Chill dough for about 30 minutes
  3. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  4. Unwrap plastic wrap from one of the dough balls.  (If only making 1 pie, freeze the other ball of dough)  On a flour-dusted surface, flour a rolling pin and roll out dough into a circle, about 10-11″ in diameter.  Place dough into a 9″ pie dish.  Fold under the edges and crimp the dough between your thumb and forefinger.
  5. In a medium bowl, combine pie filling ingredients and set aside.
  6. To make crumb topping, mix flour, oats, almonds, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt.  With a fork or a pastry cutter, cut butter into flour mixture until crumbles form.
  7. Pour apple mix into pie and sprinkle crumb topping over filling.  Bake pie for 60 minutes or until crust is golden brown.
  8. Serve immediately or freeze when completely cooled.
7 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

7 responses to “Apple Pie w/ Crumb Topping

  1. I totally agree with you – there is not much better than a crumb topping on apple pie. I love that your topping has the slivered almonds. That would make it even better. The one thing I love with my apple pie is a slice of cheddar cheese. Nice post!! Buzzed ya!

  2. Looks amazing! I like that you have a crumble on top… makes it that much more special. 🙂 Have a Happy Thanksgiving. ~ Ramona

  3. I love crumbly toppings! Your apple pie looks absolutely delicious!

  4. I love all versions of pies with crumb topping. This looks amazing!

  5. Those layers look fabulous!

  6. Amy

    This pie looks scrumptious! Just like the ones my Mom used to make. In my opinion, crumb topped is always the best option for apple pie ;)!

  7. I am a huge fan of crumb topping on apple pie too…it’s like a perfect pie/crisp hybrid! Yours looks delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

