Chocolate Peppermint Shortbread

I can’t believe that Christmas is less than a week away!   Are you ready for it?  I finished all my Christmas shopping and am now looking forward to enjoying the short work week before I head home to celebrate with family and friends.  If you’re looking for another Christmas treat to make, try this Chocolate Peppermint Shortbread.  It’s easy to make, festive, and delicious.  Enjoy!

Shortbread

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 4 oz bittersweet baking chocolate, melted, cooled
  • ½ tsp peppermint extract
  • 2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened baking cocoa

 Glaze and Topping

  • ½ cup white chocolate chips, melted
  • 2 tbsp chopped miniature peppermint candy canes

Ingredients:

  1. Heat oven to 325°F. Spray 2 (9-inch) glass pie plates with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, beat butter, granulated sugar, chocolate and peppermint extract with electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. On low speed, beat in flour and cocoa. Divide dough in half. With lightly floured hands, press dough evenly in pie plates (not up the sides).
  3. Bake 22-24 minutes or until edges just begin to pull away from sides of pie plates. Cool in pie plates 5 minutes. Carefully cut each round into wedges. Cool completely in pie plates, about 30 minutes.
  4. In small, microwaveable bowl, melt white chocolate chips until smooth and thin enough to drizzle. Drizzle over wedges and sprinkle with candies.

Yield:  2 9” pies

*Adapted from Betty Crocker

12 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

12 responses to “Chocolate Peppermint Shortbread

  1. Hi Kara, this Chocolate Peppermint Shortbread looks sensational. Oh how I would love a serving right about now… Thank you for sharing the recipe and happy holidays to you & yours!

  2. Oh goodness, this would not last long with me. I’d be gobbling it up till they had to roll me out of the kitchen. Pictures are wonderful. I am SO not ready for it yet. No tree yet either. Ugh!

  3. I love the crushed candy canes! Who wouldn’t love this shortbread. 🙂 Hope you have a great Holiday Season!!

  4. So funny, I had just baked up a batch of chocolate peppermint cookies drizzled with white chocolate and crushed candy canes when I saw this. Great minds think alike! I absolutely love the combination of chocolate and peppermint. Happy holidays!

  5. What a neat take on Peppermint Bark. I so gotta try this one!

  6. Amy

    This is beautiful and so festive! I love shortbread, especially chocolate and the mint is a nice addition!

  7. I keep thinking I am ready for Christmas, and then I sit down to make a new to do list, and it is a mile long!
    Love this shortbread – chocolate and peppermint…yum!

  8. How gorgeous are these?! And I love that they’re triangle shaped…a spin on the classic squares. 🙂 Happy Holidays!

  9. I looooveee shortbread but I especially love chocolate shortbread. What a great idea to put chopped candy canes on top. YUM!

  10. This looks absolutely awesome, and very tasty!!! Have a Happy Holidays!!!!

  11. I love shortbread cookies and these look great! Even though the holidays are over I still have a ton of candy canes hanging around. I think I need to make these! 🙂

Leave a Reply

