White Turkey Chili

Going back to work after a nice week-long hiatus is always hard, but since today was my birthday, it could’ve been worse!  🙂  I made this White Turkey Chili over the weekend along with some Cornmeal Muffins.  I wanted something easy that I could throw in my slow cooker that was hearty and full of flavor.  This chili was definitely a pleasant alternative to the regular stuff.  I added some of my favorite beans (butter and cannelini) and also a can of hominy.  I had never cooked with hominy before, but saw it while browsing around the Goya aisle at the grocery store.  According to Dictionary.com, hominy is “coarsely ground maize prepared as a food by boiling in milk or water.”  Haha I dunno… but it was good and gave the chili a unique flavor!  Enjoy and have a wonderful week.  Stay tuned for the delicious birthday dinner my hubby made me!
Ingredients:
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 can cannelini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can butter beans, drained and rinsed
  • 4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 can hominy, drained and rinsed
  • Salt and cracked pepper for seasoning
  • Your favorite shredded cheese for topping
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley leaves
  • Lemon wedge for squeezing over

Directions:

  1. Heat the oil in large sautee pan over moderate heat and add the onion and celery and cook, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic, cumin, and cayenne and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  2. Add the ground turkey and cook, breaking up the meat with a spoon, until the meat is no longer pink about 2 minutes.
  3. Add the vegetable and turkey mix to your slow cooker.  Add the cannellini and butter beans, broth, oregano, and hominy to the slow cooker.  Stir to combine and season liberally with salt and pepper.  Cook on low for 6 hours or until ready to serve.
  4. Spoon hot chili into bowls and top with shredded cheese immediately so cheese will melt.  Garnish with fresh parsley and fresh lemon.  Serve alongside Cornmeal Muffins (To Be Continued!).

*Adapted from Ellie Krieger

7 Comments

Filed under Main Course

7 responses to “White Turkey Chili

  1. Happy Birthday!! I only had a few days off and going back to work was hard 😦 This chili sounds fantastic! Love all the hearty flavors!

  2. HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY Birthday! 😀 And I’ve never had a white chili! But now, I definitely want to try one!!!!

  3. This sounds great! I love anything made with turkey 🙂

    More importantly though… HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

  4. The two different types of beans as well as the hominy really makes me want to try this. Definitely a nice change from the Texas red chili and also a much healthier-yum! Happy Birthday-so sweet of your hubby to make you dinner!

  5. One of my fav winter dinners! Looks amazing!

  6. This looks great! I love food that you can throw into the slow cooker and forget about. Happy birthday! 🙂

  7. Happy Birthday!!! I hope you had a wonderful day. 🙂 white turkey chili looks yum! Perfect for winter!

Leave a Reply

