Cornmeal Muffins & A Book Review

I made these Cornmeal Muffins to go with my White Turkey Chili that I made this past weekend.  Since this week has been super cold in the D.C. Metro Area, this is the perfect comfort food.  I am pretty acclimiated to cold weather; I grew up in Syracuse and went to college in Rochester.  However, let it be noted that these are not walking cities… we turn our cars on, let them get warm, and then drive everywhere.  Normally, you’re not walking very much outside or at least not 4 blocks to work like I do every morning from the metro.  It’s during these times that I miss driving to work.  But as I’m walking faster than most people are driving in D.C., I go back to being grateful for public transportation. The grass is always greener right?  🙂

In other news, I have to tell you about this book that I read right before Christmas.  It’s called the Soldier’s Wife by Margaret Leroy and is one of the best books that I’ve read in a while.  It’s historical fiction (which is my fav) and is set during WWII on a tiny island off the coast of Normandy in the English Channel called Guernsey.  I had planned on bringing this book home over Christmas to read, but instead, finished it in 2 days right before we left for the holidays.  Ooops!  It was that good.  I highly recommend.

Source

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cups yellow cornmeal
  • 3 tbsp. sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp. dried sage
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • Parmesan cheese for sprinkling
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F and grease 11 standard muffing cups with cooking spray.  Fill the unused cup halfway with water to prevent warping.
  2. Sift together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, salt, and sage into a bowl. In another bowl, whisk the milk, olive oil and eggs. Fold into the flour mixture and stir 15-2o strokes; do not overmix.
  3. Spoon batter into muffin tins, filling them level with the rim.  Sprinkle each muffin with parmesan cheese.  Bake for 25 minutes or until golden on top or a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Serve hot or at room temperature.

*Adapted from Muffins

14 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods

14 responses to “Cornmeal Muffins & A Book Review

  1. First your Cornmeal muffins look divine..love them, and your recipe sound perfect with bowl of good chili!
    You did great on the review too..sounds like an interesting book! Got to check it out!
    Have a lovely weekend!!!

  2. These muffins look amazing. Not sure why I never thought of doing these with chili but they would be absolutely perfect with it. I’ll have to check out that book. I usually am an avid reader but lately I just haven’t been doing it enough. I’ll peek around and try to find it. I love Costco for books. SO cheap.

  3. I already love this book because of the beautiful cover! Thanks for the review. I still read English SUPER slow so I rarely read any books in English… I’ll remember about this book, though. I might buy one to try, since I think I need to read English books to improve my writing (in English). Arhhh!

    Your cornmeal muffins look very simple and delicious! Now have to check your turkey chili!

  4. mom

    These muffins look delicious. I’m going away this weekend with some friends and one was going to bring chili so I think I’ll make these muffins to compliment the chili. I’ve been reading alot this past year so this book looks like a wonderful addition to my list of books. Have a wonderful weekend!!

  5. Your cornmeal muffins look absolutely scrumptious. I loved the recipe. Happy new year to you and your family!
    http://cosmopolitancurrymania.blogspot.com/

  6. Growing up near Buffalo I know what you mean about these NY places not being walking towns. I love living in a commuter-friendly city now! These muffins sound like the perfect company to chili, I’m a little jealous!

  7. thanks for the book review…adding it to my list of things to read this year.

  8. I like that these muffins have sage in them! And thanks for the review!

  9. Daddy Kenyon

    As usual I’m hungry – what great recipes and idea’s you have here.

    daddy

Leave a Reply

