Cinnamon Sugar Focaccia

I’ve only ever made savory focaccia bread before now.  Then, I came across this amazing Cinnamon Sugar Focaccia from How Sweet it is and decided I’d have to try.  I used my original focaccia recipe and made a few changes such as using vegetable oil instead of olive oil and adding some honey and cinnamon to the dough.  This bread was warm, fluffy, and delicious – it’s the perfect after-dinner treat or if you really have a sweet tooth, the perfect breakfast treat.

In other news, I recently became obsessed with Pinterest.  It’s fabulous and quite addicting.  I added a Pinterest button on the right-hand side of my blog; feel free to follow my Pins if you’d like!


Ingredients:

  • 2 packages dry yeast
  • 1 3/4 cups warm water
  • 1 tsp sugar, plus 1/2 cup
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 5 cups flour and extra for kneading
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon, plus 1 tbsp
  • 2 tbsp melted butter

Directions:

  1. Dissolve the yeast in the warm water and let stand until foamy about 5 minutes. Add 1 tsp sugar, oil, honey, flour, salt, and 1 tsp cinnamon. If using a kitchen aid, attach the dough hook and knead on low speed for 5-7 minutes (or knead by hand for same amount of time). Add up to 1/2 cup flour while kneading in order to prevent the dough from sticking to the bowl. Form the dough in a ball and transfer to a lightly oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let the dough rise in a warm spot for about 1-1.5 hours.
  2. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray and press the dough into the pan. If it’s too elastic to spread out, let it rest for 5 minutes. Cover the pan with a dry kitchen towel and let rise again for 1 hour. Position a rack in the lower 1/3 of the oven and preheat to 400. Dimple the dough with your fingertips and brush melted butter over bread.  In a small bowl, mix 1/2 cup sugar and 1 tbsp cinnamon and sprinkle over bread.  Bake focaccia for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.  Serve warm or at room temperature.
*Adapted from how Sweet it is
10 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Bread

10 responses to “Cinnamon Sugar Focaccia

  1. This sounds absolutely wonderful!!! Love it

  2. I love a sweet version to focaccia! This recipe looks wonderful! Have a great week! ~ Ramona

  3. I never even thought of focaccia as anything other than savory, but this looks FANTASTIC!

  4. Um yes please. My go to focaccia is rosemary, garlic and onions. Cinnamon and sugar is a whole other level of focaccia bread. Sign me up!

  5. Brilliant! I’ve never thought to make a sweet focaccia but it makes so much sense!

  6. Amy

    I have never seen foccacia like this before, but it sounds amazing! Cinnamon sugar reminds me of childhood and my Mom making cinnamon sugar bread :)!

  7. Louise

    Sweet Foccacia! How delightful!

  8. Cinnamon makes everything good!

  9. This looks great! I made focaccia for the first time tonight and I would love to try this sweet version.

Leave a Reply

