Peanut Butter & Chocolate Owl Cupcakes

Today was my hubby’s 29th birthday!  When I saw these owl cupcakes on Pinterest, I knew I had to make them for him to share with his co-workers.  Let me explain… My hubby has these big beautiful eyes and when he was small, he had to get glasses.  Because he was just going to grow and eventually need new, bigger glasses, my mother-in-law decided to buy him a gigantic pair of glasses that he could grow in to.  To this day, everyone in the family teases him about the glasses and about what my mother-in-law used to say to anyone that commented on his ginormous glasses: “he’ll grow into em!” (Must be said in a Queens accent to get the full effect).  I’m not really sure why I thought these cute little owl cupcakes reminded me of that, but they did.  And I thought he would get a kick out of me embarassing him a little bit on his birthday.  🙂

I made Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream Frosting. I then used Oreo cookies for the eyes and Reese’s Pieces for the eyeballs and beak. They are too cute.  Enjoy!


Chocolate Cupcakes
Ingredients:
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 12-cup standard muffin tin with paper liners.
  2. Into a medium bowl, sift together cocoa, flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each, then beat in vanilla. With mixer on low speed, add flour mixture in two batches, alternating with sour cream and beginning and ending with flour.
  3. Pour batter into cups, filling each 3/4 full. Bake until a toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes.
  4. Cool in pan 5 minutes; transfer to a wire rack to cool completely, then spread with Easy White Icing using a table knife or small offset spatula. Decorate with sprinkles, if desired.
Peanut Butter Buttercream
Ingredients:
  • 2/3 cup natural, creamy peanut butter
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 48 Oreo Cookies (you need 24 cream-filled sides)
  • Reese’s Pieces  (24 brown for eyes and 12 orange for beak)
Directions:
  1. Cream peanut butter and butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment on high speed. On low speed, mix in sugar until combined, then beat mixture on high speed until fluffy and smooth, about 3 minutes. Add salt to taste, if desired. Use immediately.
  2. Once cupcakes have cooled completely, frost liberally.  Separate Oreo cookies so you have 24 cream-filled cookies.  Place 2 on each cupcake on top of frosting.  Lightly frost one side of each Reese’s Pieces and place on cupcakes.  Makes 12 cupcakes.
Source:  Martha Stewart
10 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

10 responses to “Peanut Butter & Chocolate Owl Cupcakes

  1. Hehe, super cute! I have this things for owls. I love these cupcakes!

  2. mom

    Oh my goodness, these are sooooo cute!! Dan must have loved these along with the fabulous dinner you made him. Hope he had a wonderful birthday, topping on the cupcakes-SU WON!!

  3. Happy birthday to your husband! These cupcakes are so cute and they sound delicious.

  4. happy Birthday!! what gorgeous cupcakes – so adorable and sound delicious
    Mary x

  5. I showed these to my daughter…. they are now on the have to make this weekend list… They are very awesome!

  6. These are so, so cute!! Isn’t pinterest the best?!

  7. I love owls! These are so adorable.

  8. Oh my goodness these are so cute. Happy Birthday to your hubby.

  9. Pingback: Reese’s Pieces Peanut Butter Brownies | Happy When Not Hungry

  10. So cute. I bet your husband loved these and made his birthday celebration over the top. I have been seeing lots of owl things when out shopping, which is great because I think they are so cute. Hope you are having a great week.
    -Gina-

Leave a Reply

