Blood Orange Olive Oil Cake

Tis the season for citrus fruits!  I’ve had a recipe for olive oil cake that I’ve been meaning to try for the past 2 years.  I finally saw some blood oranges at the supermarket and decided to make Blood Orange Olive Oil Cake.  The cake tastes almost like a pound cake but much lighter since there’s no butter.  I also created a glaze of confectioner’s sugar, blood orange juice, and milk.  The glaze makes this cake look pretty-in-pink and gives it an extra sweetness.  I definitely like how the olive oil cake turned out and will be trying this recipe with lemon next.  Enjoy!
Ingredients:
  • 3 blood oranges
  • 1 cup sugar
  • Sour cream
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for the baking pan
Frosting Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • Juice of 1 blood orange
  • 1-2 tbsp milk (or until desired consistency)
Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350°F and spray a 9-by-5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray.

2. Grate the zest from 2 of the blood oranges and place it in a bowl. Dump in the sugar and, using your fingertips, rub the ingredients together until the sugar is evenly flecked with the zest and the smell is irresistible.

3. Supreme two oranges: Lop off the bottom and top so a bit of the fruit is exposed and the orange can stand upright on a cutting board. Starting at the top, cut away the peel and white pith with the tip of your knife, following the curve of the fruit. Slice down one side of a section and the other, using your knife to wiggle the fruit out, releasing it from the membranes and letting it fall into a bowl. Repeat with the rest of the sections and do the same to the second orange. Break up the segments with your fingers.

4. Halve the remaining orange and squeeze the juice into a measuring cup. You’ll have about 1/4 cup. Add enough sour cream to the juice until you have 2/3 cup of liquid. Pour the mixture into the bowl with the zested sugar and whisk well. Then plop in the eggs and whisk until incorporated.

5. In another bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Gently whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ones. Switch to a spatula and fold in the oil a little at a time. Fold in the orange segments. Scrape the batter into the pan and smooth the top.

6. Bake the cake for about 55 minutes, until it is golden and a knife inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool on a rack for 5 minutes, then turn it out of the pan and onto the wire rack, right-side up, and cool to room temperature.

7.  Meanwhile, whisk frosting ingredients together until desired consistency.  Once cake has completely cooled, drizzle frosting over.

*Adapted from Leite’s Culinaria

12 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

12 responses to “Blood Orange Olive Oil Cake

  1. This looks really fantastic. I am loving the citrus season. One of my fave things. Your cake is making me hungry, big time.

  2. Liss

    This was so delicious! Thanks for sharing it with us!

  3. I picked up a bag of blood oranges at the store this week. It was the first time I’d tried them. I love the color and the bittersweet flavor. I am sure that cake was simply wonderful!

  4. Need to get me a few blood oranges.

  5. Oh I adore blood oranges. They are a little expensive so I feel very special whenever using it, but it’s so worth it. Great color of orange and taste delicious too. I am sure your cake was wonderful!!! Have a great weekend~~~!

  6. Mom

    This cake was so delicious. I’ve never tried blood oranges before a couple of weeks ago. I was able to experience this tasty tid bit when I visited this last weekend. It was so moist and scrumptous!!

  7. I am a HUGE fan of baking with olive oil! I made citrus olive oil muffins not too long ago and was amazed at the lovely texture! Thanks for sharing and HAPPY Friday!

  8. Seriously?! How can I not find blood oranges!! This cake looks amazing, I just need to get my hands on those oranges 🙂

  9. Amy

    A blood orange cake sounds delicious! They have so much flavor and are one of my favorites this time of year! I love that you have included plenty of them in this recipe for an intense flavor!

  10. I just made a lemon polenta cake with olive oil, it’s surprising isn’t it how moist it makes the cake. I love blood oranges but can’t get them here which is strange coming from the home of oranges!! This is really making my mouth water!

  11. This looks perfect for breakfast or with some hot chocolate – such a delicious dish 😀
    I love the flavours and glaze!
    So happy to have found your blo!g

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Fresh Fruit Tart

Leave a Reply

