Mint Chocolate Brownies

 It’s almost St. Patty’s Day, and what better way to celebrate the day than with these scrumptious Chocolate Mint Brownies!  When I was little, a dairy near our house (Byrne Dairy!) sold mint milk every year.  The milk tasted awesome, and they sold it in glass containers so you could see how green it was.  I don’t know if they still make mint milk (Mom?), but that’s something that my sister and I used to enjoy this time of year when we were little.  What I wouldn’t give for a glass of mint milk to go along with these awesome brownies… green beer will have to do!

Do you have any St. Patty’s Day traditions that involve green drinks/foods?


Brownie Base:
  • 1 box brownie mix
  • Water, vegetable oil and egg called for on brownie mix box

Filling:

  • 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons butter or margarine, softened
  • 3 tablespoons whipping cream
  • 2 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 teaspoon mint extract
  • 2 drops green food coloring

Topping:

  • 1/3 cup whipping cream
  • 1 1/3 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup butter

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F (325°F for dark or nonstick pan). Grease bottom only of 9-inch square pan with shortening or cooking spray.
  2. Make and bake brownie mix as directed on box. Cool completely, about 1 1/2 hours.
  3. In large bowl, beat filling ingredients with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Spread over cooled brownies. Refrigerate about 1 hour or until set.
  4. Meanwhile, in 2-quart nonstick saucepan, heat topping ingredients over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until melted and smooth. Cool about 10 minutes or until lukewarm.
  5. Pour topping over filling; spread to cover. Refrigerate uncovered about 2 hours or until set. Before cutting into bars, let stand 10 minutes at room temperature. For bars, cut into 5 rows by 4 rows. Store covered in refrigerator.

*Adapted from Betty Crocker

11 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

11 responses to “Mint Chocolate Brownies

  1. I have no St. Patrick’s day traditions. I did used to love strawberry milk. I am intrigued by this mint milk.

  2. In Germany we used to drink green beer on St. Patrick’s Day (light beer with green food color) Hmmm chocolate brownie with mint!

  3. Nom! The brownies sound amazing! And mint milk? I’ve never heard of that, but it sounds interesting. It would be perfect to use to make ice cream too 🙂 When I lived at home my mom always made corned beef and cabbage for St. Patrick’s Day.

  4. I don’t really celebrate St. Patricks day, but I surely wouldn’t mind having that brownie! Can’t get my eyes of that mint layer! 🙂

  5. This would be perfect on any day

  6. How cool is it that the local dairy sold mint milk. I’ve never had that before. Your brownies look so moist and rich!

  7. This is very similar to my mint slice on my blog…looks just as good!

Leave a Reply

