St. Patty’s Day Rice Krispy Treats

Here’s another simple, but festive treat for St. Patty’s Day: Rice Krispy Treats.  In my opinion, Rice Krispy Treats are underrated; they are one of the most simple treats to make and they taste amazing, so why don’t I make them more?  I’m not sure, but I know that every time I make them, they immediately make me think back to when I was a little kid.  I don’t know how long Rice Krispy treats have been around for, but they are one of those timeless treats that everyone likes to enjoy now and then.  Happy St. Patty’s Day!



Ingredients:
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1 package (10 oz.) marshmallows
  • 6 cups Rice Krispies cereal
  • A few drops of green food coloring
Directions:
  1. In a large saucepan, melt butter over low heat and add marshmallows.  Stir until completely melted and remove from heat.   Add a few drops of food coloring and stir to combine.
  2. Add cereal and stir until well coated.
  3. Using buttered spatula, evenly press mixture into a 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan coated with cooking spray.   Allow to cool.  Use a shamrock cookie cutter to press out shapes.

*Adapted from Rice Krispies

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts

2 responses to “St. Patty’s Day Rice Krispy Treats

  1. Cute! Rice Krispies are one of those desserts I just can’t be trusted around. They’re so simple and reminiscent of childhood…I can’t get enough!

  2. How cute! My kids will enjoy making these. 🙂 I need to keep this recipe for next year – school was requesting for some green snack today and I have my son brought kiwis… haha not very creative huh. =P

Leave a Reply

