Oatmeal Cream Pies

 I’m fairly certain that when you clicked on “Oatmeal Cream Pies” you had visions of the Little Debbie treat dancing in your head.  That is exactly what I made, except the homemade version!

I’ve walked by the Little Debbie stand at the grocery store numerous times, but I haven’t bought one of her treats in years.  Then, I was purusing Pinterest (so addicting!) and came across these guys and knew I had to make them.  After my hubby took his first bite, he proclaimed that they were amazing and tasted like the real deal, except they were better because they were homemade.  He even went on to tell me that neither he nor I would be bringing these treats in to work.  Ok, sounds good to me!

Cookie Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter
  • ¾ cup dark brown sugar
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp molasses
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ cups flour
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 ½ cups quick oats

Cream Filling:

  • 2 tsp very hot water
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 (7 oz.) jar marshmallow cream
  • ½ cup shortening
  • ⅓ cup powdered sugar
  • ½ tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350° and line 3 cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon and set aside.
  3. In the bowl of your stand mixer, cream the butter, sugars, molasses, vanilla, and eggs until blended.  Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and beat to combine; mix in the oats with a wooden spoon.
  4. Drop tablespoon-sized scoops onto the cookie sheet about 2″ apart and bake for 10-12 minutes, until cookie just starts to brown around the edges.  Cookies will look moist and be fragile; be careful not to over-bake.  Carefully move cookies to a wire rack to cool.
  5. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, dissolve the salt in the hot water and allow to cool to room temperature.
  6. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the marshmallow cream, shortening, powdered sugar, and vanilla and mix on high until fluffy.  Add the salt water and mix well.
  7. Spread the filling onto the flat side of one cookie and top with another.   Makes about 18 cream pies.

*Slightly adapted from Kids in the Sink


12 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

12 responses to “Oatmeal Cream Pies

  1. We thought they were so much better than anything Little Debbie ever made too! It was a struggle to not eat them all. A struggle we maybe didn’t win…

  2. Anything that calls for a jar of marshmallow cream has to be a winner.

  3. mom

    These look really good. I have to make something for a bake sale/fundraiser and this is going to be what I make. These will bring in tons of money!!

  4. I’m definitely putting these on Pinterest. I can’t wait to try them, thanks!

  5. Nami | Just One Cookbook

    Hmmm these look yummy! I’ve never seen a jar of marshmallow cream! Sounds like one addicting ingredient. =D You and your mom are cute talking over the blog – I like that. Your mom is so supportive! 🙂

  6. I haven’t had Little Debbie’s for years either. The Oatmeal Cream pies were always my favorite. Great you found a recipe that was too good to share.

  7. Ooo these homemade versions sound amazing! And so much better for you 🙂

  8. OH man, these bring me back. I can almost taste them!

  9. Brownie points with the hubby if I make these

  10. Pingback: Memorial Day Cook-Out Menu

Leave a Reply

