Lentils in Herb-Arugula Yogurt

I hope you had a fabulous weekend!  They are always too short, right?  Here’s a side dish that I made this past week that is healthy and delicious: Lentils in Herb-Arugula Yogurt.  This dish is easy to prepare and makes a great lunch to bring to work.  I love lentils because they contain a lot of protein, so I’m always looking for new lentil recipes.  Since I had some arugula that was in desperate need of eating and some Greek yogurt, I decided this was the perfect dish to make.  I added some fresh parsley and lemon juice and then let it chill in the refrigerator.  While you can eat this dish warm, I found that letting all the flavors mesh together in the refrigerator really made this dish taste awesome.  Here’s another great protein-fix dish that you need to try!
What’s your favorite protein dish?
Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup brown lentils
  • 5 ounces arugula
  • 1/2 cup parsley leaves
  • 2 tablespoons mint leaves
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup plain low-fat yogurt (I used Greek yogurt)
  • 1/2 pound cucumber—peeled, seeded and coarsely shredded (optional)
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions:

  1. In a medium saucepan, cover the lentils with water and bring to a boil.  Simmer over moderately low heat, stirring occasionally, until tender, about 30 minutes.  Drain and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, bring a medium saucepan of salted water to a boil.   Add the arugula and blanch for 30 seconds.  Drain and rinse under cold water.  Squeeze out excess water and transfer the arugula to a food processor.  Add the parsley and mint and process until finely chopped.  Transfer the puree to a colander and squeeze out any excess liquid.  Transfer the puree to a large bowl.
  3. Stir the yogurt, shredded cucumber, lemon juice,  and lentils into the arugula puree and season with salt and pepper.  Transfer to small bowls and serve.  The dish can be refrigerated overnight.
*Adapted from Food & Wine

2 Comments

Filed under Main Course, Side Dishes

2 responses to “Lentils in Herb-Arugula Yogurt

  1. akiasi

    This is my lucky day. I was just visiting another food blog that used lentils in a recipe, and now I find your recipe. We have tons of lentils, of all varieties, in the cupboard, so I’m always excited to find new lentil recipes. This once is perfect for spring. Cheers!

  2. I love this dish! I think lentils don’t get enough credit sometimes, but they are widely used in my cooking :)! The yogurt is a perfect addition to this!

Leave a Reply

