Black Bean Dip

Everyone loves Mexican food, right?  I made this Black Bean Dip last weekend to share with some of my girlfriends.  I was so preoccupied with catching up with my friends that I didn’t even realize I’d eaten about 1/3 of the dip on my own.  Ok, maybe I knew exactly what I was doing, but it was just so good!  This dip was also great because I made it in the slow cooker which was convenient since I was going over to my friend’s place on a Friday night after work.  Serve this dip to a group of girls in need of some catch-up time and it will be gone in no time!  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
  • 2 cans (14 to 19 oz/398 to 540 mL) black beans, drained, rinsed and mashed
  • 2 cups salsa
  • 4 green onions, finely chopped
  • 2 roasted peppers (poblanos or sweet), peeled and diced
  • 1 can green chillies
  • 2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • Tortilla chips

Directions:

  1. In slow cooker stoneware, combine beans, salsa, green onions, peppers, and cheese.  Stir well.  Cover and cook on High for 1 1/2 hours, until mixture is hot and bubbly. Serve with tortilla chips.
9 Comments

Filed under Appetizers

9 responses to “Black Bean Dip

  1. emmajeanne16

    Oh yum. I am on a dip kick lately. Great that you could just throw it in a crock pot. The Mexican kind is my favorite; I think I would have eaten the whole thing.

  2. Love Mexican food. It’s just so yummy. I bet my hubby would go crazy for this. Him and my son are huge dip dudes.

  3. I could live on a dip like this – full of flavor and goodness – delish!
    Mary x

  4. This sounds awesome. I do enjoy a good slow-cooker recipe, since I think it’s a seriously underrated form of cooking. I look forward to trying this soon!

  5. Oh, this would be great on family movie night! Looks great, Kara!

Leave a Reply

