Lemon & Dill Hummus

This Lemon & Dill Hummus is delicious, healthy, and incredibly easy to make.  You can improvise with whatever herbs or flavors you like.  Some people like their hummus plain with a little seasoning, others like roasted garlic, dried tomatoes, fresh herbs, etc.  I recently bought a dill plant at the farmer’s market and decided to add fresh dill and lemon to my hummus.  I also used Tahini.  Not all hummus recipes use Tahini, but I like the flavor that it adds to the hummus.  What is Tahini?  Tahini is a paste of ground sesame seeds.  It looks kind of like peanut butter, and you only need to add a little bit to your batch.  You can find Tahini in the international food aisle in your supermarket.  Don’t be dismayed by the price of it though – the bottle will last a long time in your refrigerator and will generate numerous batches of hummus.  Enjoy!


Ingredients:
  • 2 (16-ounce) cans chickpeas, drained
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp freshly chopped dill leaves
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • A few dashes of hot sauce
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Pita wedges or vegetables to accompany
Directions:
  1. In a food processor, add 1 can of beans, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, dill, cumin, and hot sauce.  Pulse until smooth.
  2. Add the second can of beans and pulse until beans are incorporated but still chunky.  Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Serve hummus with pita wedges or vegetables.
6 Comments

Filed under Appetizers

6 responses to “Lemon & Dill Hummus

  1. Wel thank you thank you!! I made hummus the other day and it was AWFUL!!!! thank goodness I have a wonderful recipe like this to go to!
    Mary x

  2. The addition of dill would make the hummus so much yummier. I love dill in foods.

  3. yum, love your twist on basic hummus! And I love tahini!! so good.

  4. Mmmm…I LOVE hummus and always looking for a new variation! I can’t wait to give this a try! 🙂

  5. Nami | Just One Cookbook

    I love hummus but never had this creative hummus before with lemon and dill! I have tahini sauce at home too, I’m planning to experiment thanks to your recipe!

  6. I adore hummus! It makes a wonderful and healthy snack. I have also tried many different types like spicy, garlicky, herbed but haven’t tried your version. I am sure i would love it 😀

Leave a Reply

