Summer Bean Salad

This Summer Bean Salad is healthy and can be eaten as a side with your favorite grilled protein, as a salsa with tortilla chips or as a delicious salad by itself.  I love the fresh cilantro as well!  I recently bought several herbs at the farmer’s market.  Fresh herb plants are convenient to have because it seems like whenever I need them, I don’t have the right ones or they’ve already gone rotten in the refrigerator.  What better way to store all of your herb plants than with a potting bench… did I mention that my hubby recently bought me one?
I love this thing!  It organizes all of my gardening gadgets, pots, plants, etc.  It looks really nice too.  I used to have my tomato plants sitting on top, but they were not getting enough direct light, so I moved them.  My tomato plants are not looking good this year either.  Funny thing is that last year I bought my tomato plants from Home Depot and they did awesome – this year, I bought my tomato plants at the farmer’s market and they are doing awful!  I really don’t have a green thumb (just pretend to), so any tips you have for my struggling tomato plants would be appreciated!  I’m hoping I can make this Summer Bean Salad again, but with my homegrown cherry tomatoes!

Salad Ingredients:
  • 2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can sweet corn, drained
  • 1 1/2 cups grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1 avocado, diced (add after salad has refrigerated)
Dressing Ingredients:
  • 3 tbsp cider vinegar
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt, plus extra for seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
Directions:
  1. In large bowl, mix salad ingredients, except avocado.  In another small bowl, mix dressing ingredients with wire whisk until blended.
  2. Pour dressing over salad; toss to mix. Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours to blend flavors.
  3. Carefully mix in diced avocado and serve.
3 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

3 responses to “Summer Bean Salad

  1. Perfect for summer! Love it! And love the bench too! Good luck with the tomatoes. Wish we had some advice for you!

  2. Daddy Kenyon

    Potting bench looks great – bean salad looks yummy.

    daddy

  3. Nice quick lunch, for hot days. Thanks

Leave a Reply

