Morning Glory Muffins

It’s September which means it’s my favorite time of year!  Even though it’s still 86 degrees outside and the official autumnal equinox isn’t until September 22, it’s fall in my book as soon as Labor Day passes.  Fall is my favorite baking season by far; you can’t beat pumpkin, apples, cinnamon, caramel, concord grapes, figs, etc.  I love all of those flavors, and I’m obsessed with Yankee candles that come in any of a variety of those flavors.  In fact, I just bought a new one this past weekend.  I don’t know about you, but I have to smell every single flavor about 3 times before making my final decision.  I finally went with Spiced Pumpkin, which smells like Beak and Skiff in a jar (an apple orchard near my parent’s house in Syracuse).
In lieu of my excitement over the start of the fall baking season, I made Morning Glory Muffins.  Morning Glory Muffins have shredded coconut, apples, and carrots.  They taste similar to carrot cake and are oh so delicious.  I upped the nutritional value by decreasing the amount of sugar and adding flax seed meal.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup ground flax meal
  • 2 cups grated carrots
  • 2/3 cup crushed pineapple, drained
  • 1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut
  • 1 large apple, grated
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease muffin cups with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and flax meal.  Add the carrots, pineapple, coconut, and apple and stir to combine.  Add the eggs, applesauce, and vanilla and stir to combine.
  3. With a cookie scoop, divide the batter among two 12-cup muffin tins, 1/2-full.  Bake for about 20 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean.  Let the muffins cool on a rack for 10 minutes and then turn them out to cool for another 10 minutes.

*Adapted from The Apple Lover’s Cookbook

 

2 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Breakfast

2 responses to “Morning Glory Muffins

  1. I love morning glory muffins and yours look just fantastic! love the ingredients and can almost smell them!
    Mary x

  2. mom

    I’ve seen recipes for Morning Glory muffins but have never tried them. I love all the ingredients that are in them so I’ll be making them soon. They look delicious!! I love Fall too!!

Leave a Reply

