Baked Apple Oatmeal

Can you believe it’s already mid-October?  My favorite season will soon be over, so it’s time to take advantage of as much fall produce as I can.  Hand-picked apples are perfect to munch on or to bake with.  I made this Baked Apple Oatmeal with my favorite baking apple… the Northern Spy.  I actually hand-picked 15 pounds of these Spys when I was up in NY visiting my parents.  I’ve already made apple pies and applesauce, so it was time to get creative and make some other treats.  This Baked Apple Oatmeal is easy to make and is the perfect breakfast treat.  Serve it warm with a drizzle of maple syrup and enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 3/4 cup diced apple
  • 2 cups milk (I used skim)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • Maple syrup for drizzling

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 and set rack in the middle of oven.  Grease an 8″x8″ baking pan and set aside.  In a large bowl, stir the oats, baking powder, and salt.  Add the pecans, dried cranberries, and apples.
  2. In another bowl, whisk together the milk, eggs, brown sugar, and cinnamon.  Pour the wet mixture over the dry mixture and stir to combine.
  3. Pour mixture into dish and bake until top is golden brown, 55-65 minutes.  Spoon into bowls and serve warm with maple syrup.

*The Apple Lover’s Cookbook

 

5 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Breakfast

5 responses to “Baked Apple Oatmeal

  1. Love this. I don’t normally like oatmeal but the baked versions I love. The fact that this has apple in it makes it super appealing.

  2. I’m also rich in hand-picked NY apples! But first, there is an apple lovers cookbook? I must look into this 🙂

  3. Liss

    Yum! This looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

