Coconut Cookies

These Coconut Cookies are only too appropriate to blog about today!  I’ve already mentioned that I’m currently in India for work, so I made these cookies about 2 weeks ago.  But, these cookies are perfect for me to blog about today because much of Indian cuisine, especially from the state of Kerala, has fresh coconut or coconut milk in it.  In fact, I had a veggie curry today for lunch that had coconut milk in it (amazing!).  I had to share these cookies with you because they are soft, chewy, and just amazing.  Def give these babies a try!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups toasted coconut (flaked or shredded)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spread shredded or flaked coconut on a rimmed baking sheet and bake, stirring once or twice, until golden, about 5 -10 minutes.  Set aside and line another baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a medium bowl, set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter and sugars until creamy (about 3-4 minutes on medium-high speed). Beat in the egg and vanilla until combined.
  4. Gradually stir  in the flour mixture (on low or with a big wooden spoon), then mix in the toasted coconut.
  5. With a cookie scoop, drop dough onto parchment-lined baking sheet, about 3 inches apart.  Bake for 8-10 minutes or until just golden and then cool on wire racks.

*Adapted from Anecdotes and Apple Cores

9 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

9 responses to “Coconut Cookies

  1. Sri Lankan cooking uses both the coconut flesh as well as the coconut milk in much of our savory and sweet food. These cookies are just my kind of sweet treat!! Hope you’re having a wonderful time in India!!

    PS… I am handing out Versatile Blogger awards today… you really deserve one.. check it out. 🙂

  2. these cookies look sensational!!
    Mary x

  3. India!! Oh my gosh! How cool is that!! So glad that you’re getting inspried by your local surroundings, because these cookies sound heavenly!

  4. These sound delicious! I love anything coconut and in a chewy cookie sounds wonderful! I have a feeling I would be snacking on quite a bit of the dough before they even got to the oven ;)!

  5. Looking amazing! I know I would love these cookies. So would my mom and I think I am going to send them off for Mother’s Day!

  6. Cookies with coconut in them are my kind of cookies! Hope you enjoy India. I’ve never been but it is definitely on my list.

  7. Wow! Safe travels! These cookies sound amazing.

Leave a comment