7 Layer Bacon Bars

Yes, I know… bacon with chocolate, butterscotch, coconut, and graham crackers?  Yep.  Your tastebuds will love you if you make these bars.  I don’t know what it is about the sweet and salty combo, but it’s amazing; peanut butter and jelly, chocolate covered pretzels, the list goes on and on.  These 7 Layer Bacon Bars are no exception to that list.  I used my classic 7 Layer Bar recipe and added some diced bacon for good measure.  I made these bars to bring over to my sister and bro-in-law’s for dinner over the weekend.  I told my sister there was a secret ingredient and that I wouldn’t tell her what it was until after she tried them.  I thought I had her fooled, but she guessed right!  These bars have the slightest hint of bacon, and when you taste the salty with the sweet, fireworks will go off in your mouth.  Definitely give these tasty bars a try!

Ingredients:

  • 5 slices of thick-cut bacon
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs (about 6-7 full sheets)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with cooking spray.  Line slices of bacon on baking sheet and bake until golden brown, about 17-20 minutes.  Place bacon strips on top of paper towels to drain and set aside.
  3. Lower oven heat to 350.
  4. Melt butter in a microwave-safe bowl and add graham cracker crumbs to butter and mix with a wooden spoon.
  5. Spray a 13×9″ pan with cooking spray and spread graham cracker crumbs on the bottom.
  6. Once bacon has cooled, break into small crumbles or pieces.  In a mixing bowl, toss the bacon, chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, and coconut together and spread over graham crackers.
  7. Spread the condensed milk over the top.
  8. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until graham cracker crust is golden brown.  Allow bars to cool completely before cutting into squares and serving.
18 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

18 responses to “7 Layer Bacon Bars

  1. These look great- love the addition of bacon!

  2. Liz

    Wow! I’ve been able to resist all the sweets with the added bacon, but this one I may need to try! How yummy!

  3. Whoa! I love these bars without the bacon…I can only imagine how fantastic your adaptation is!

  4. I’ve been wanting to try some bacon in one of my muffin recipes, but now I’m thinking about bars instead. Yours look great!

  5. I love every ingredient in these! Great flavors-especially the addition of the bacon. Thanks for sharing these unique and I am sure very tasty bars!

  6. I LOVE that you added bacon to these bars!

  7. I’ve been reluctant to try bacon with sweets, but there are so many blog posts and articles about how great it is – I think I might have to give in to all the buzz!

  8. I’ve never had 7 layer bars…but they sure sound good with or without the bacon.

  9. How pretty! It’s certainly a different kind of bar! I’ve heard that bacon is good with chocolate and sweets so I’d love to try this for myself. I have a feeling they wouldn’t last long in my house! 🙂

  10. Oh wow! I make a cookie bar with graham cracker crust, chocolate chips, shredded coconut, and condensed milk. I’ll have to try it now with the bacon added in. I have been hearing for awhile now that bacon and chocolate are great together! Interesting combo but I’m always willing to try! 🙂

  11. Great idea! They look fabulous! Can’t wait to try bacon with sweet dessert soon!

  12. Great idea to add bacon to these bars! They look great!

  13. No explanation needed here. This sounds and look delicious! Sign me right up!

  14. To quote a 4year old nephew when I asked him what he wanted for breakfast, “bacon, Bacon, BACON!!”

  15. I think it’s an irresistable idea – that I would NEVER have thought of and my kids are going to go crazy!
    Mary

  16. OH MY GOD! I LOVE THESE BARS!! Bacon does make everything taste better! 🙂

  17. Pingback: Salted Fudge Brownies | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

