Slow Cooker Beef Bourguignon

Beef Bourguignon is a French dish usually braised in red wine – I’m glad you can’t hear how I’m butchering this word.  I’m blaming it on the fact that I took Spanish in high school and Italian in college, sorry no French.  No matter how you pronounce “Bourguignon,” one word that I know and love is “slow cooker.”  My slow cooker has been my life saver recently.  Things have been so hectic around our house, and it’s nice to have dinner waiting for us when we get home.  I’ve made this dish before, but never in my slow cooker.  I made a few tweaks to my original recipe, and I must say that this dish in the slow cooker is amazing.  The meat is so tender and the flavors are wonderful because they have such a nice, long time marinating together.  I cooked some whole wheat egg noodles to serve the beef on top of.  You could use whatever carbohydrate you’d like.  Definitely try this one in your slow cooker… you’ll be so happy you did!

Ingredients:
  • 6 strips maple bacon
  • 3 pounds stew beef cubes
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • Sea salt and fresh ground pepper for sprinkling
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 1/4 cup beef broth
  • 2 cups red wine (I used Cabernet)
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp fresh parsley, plus more for sprinkling
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 pound fresh cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • Egg noodles
Directions:
  1. Sauté bacon in a skillet over medium heat until crisp. Remove bacon and place on paper towels off to the side.
  2. Add beef cubes to skillet and brown. Remove meat and set aside.
  3. Cook carrots, onion, and celery in skillet until brown, about 6 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Stir flour in broth and mix well.  Add to skillet.
  5. Add beef and bacon to skillet and mix.  Place entire mix in bottom of slow cooker.
  6. Add wine, tomato paste, garlic, bay leaf, parsley, and mushrooms to slow cooker.
  7. Cook on low for 5-6 hours or until thoroughly cooked.
  8. Boil water and cook egg noodles according to directions.
  9. Serve beef mixture over egg noodles and sprinkle with fresh parsley.

20 Comments

Filed under Main Course

20 responses to “Slow Cooker Beef Bourguignon

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

    Looks delicious and hearty. LOVE this dish. Great job. 🙂

  2. Must MAAAAAKEE!!!! I’ve always wanted to make this ever since I watched Julie & Julia. But I don’t have that expensive pot that you need…thankfully, I do have a slow-cooker! I’d love this served with roasted root veggies…like sweet potatoes and yucca!

  3. I am also crazy about my slow cooker … lately I’ve been using it more often than I ever have, and the food always comes out delicious! Thank you for this recipe … that’s one more recipe that I can try to cook up in my crock pot!! 🙂

    P.S. I took French for 4 years in High School and 2 years in college… I still can’t pronounce that word correctly. 🙂

  4. Oh man girl… This looks amazing! This is one dish I’ve been wanting to try for a while now, and I just love the idea of using my crock-pot to make it! That is always a win win situation for me! Thanks for posting!
    p.s. I took French in high school, and spent some time in France and I cannot pronounce Bourguignon to save my life!

  5. 100% saved and bookmarked! My boyfriend never cooked until I showed him how to use the slow cooker, now he at least makes something for me once a week. Saves a lot of stress for me. And this looks PERFECT! Yum!!

  6. This looks great! I love the flavor combination!

  7. This looks awesome Kara. I totally agree that the slow cooker can save the day when things are hectic. I haven’t broken mine out in way too long. Soon!

  8. Liss

    Oooo, this looks delicious Kar! I am adding this to my list of things to make.

  9. I have made Julia Child’s recipe for beef bourguignon and it was delicious but soo much work. This recipe looks amazing and I do not use my slow cooker often enough. You have inspired me with the recipe and the slow cooker.

    I have had way too much french in my academic career and I don’t know if I say it right, but I say it like I mean it – and when you act like you know what you are saying not many people will correct you. So however you say it, I will believe you because this dish looks fantastic!

  10. I am starting to love slow cooker and now i have a new recipe to try 🙂
    This must have tasted unbeleivably good with egg noodles!!!!

  11. A spectacular looking beef bourguignon! Love the maple bacon here, just perfect!

  12. Love my slow cooker! This is a go to recipe! Must try!

  13. Great photos! Your Bourguignon looks amazing .
    I love my slow cookers too, so much so I have collected 7 of them!! lol

  14. I’ve been wanting to make beef bourguignon ever since I saw Julie and Julia haha but still haven’t gotten around to it because the long cooking time always turns me off. I think it’s time I buy a slow cooker… 😉

  15. I never cooked in the slow cooker. looks delish!

  16. Mmmm…loving this slow cooker meal! Looks amazing! I am bookmarking this one…can’t wait to give it a try! Yum! 🙂

  17. Kara, I’m awarding you the Stylish Blogger Award! Check it out here: http://themarfarmfamily.blogspot.com/2011/02/blog-awards.html

    Have a Fantastic Day!
    Kim

  18. Smart! Very smart! Love the slow cooker meals! Love the name of your blog too. I feel the same way!

  19. yes! i’m going to make this in my slower cooker! but 3 pounds of beef? that’s like three dinners for us, and my roommate is 6’4″.

  20. Pingback: My Top 10 Favorite Recipes from 2011 | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a comment