Fruit, Nut & Honey Bars

Happy President’s Day!  I’m so happy that with this new job comes a sleu of new holidays that I have off.  Since my sister and I had a long weekend, we decided to drive up to Syracuse and celebrate my father’s birthday with him.  We had a great trip home; there was a lot of quality family time, Syracuse beat Rutgers in overtime, and we baked a lot.  All in all, it was a very nice and relaxing weekend.  One of the treats my mom, sister, and I baked were these fruit, nut and honey bars.  My mom is on Weight Watchers and doing an amazing job!  She found this recipe in her WW magazine.  We made a few changes like adding sliced almonds and dried blueberries.  These bars came out delicious and flavorful.  The honey really gives the bars a nice sweetness without all the calories.  Add whatever dried fruits or nuts you’d like.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup dried blueberries
  • 1/2 cup dried apricots, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/4 ground flaxseeds
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 9″ square baking pan with aluminum foil and spray with cooking spray.
  2. In a mixing bowl, beat honey, eggs, and salt with a fork until blended.
  3. Add oats, blueberries, apricots, almonds, white chocolate chips, and flax seeds and stir until combined (mixture will be fairly sticky).
  4. Add whole wheat flour and mix until combined.
  5. Press dough evenly into pan and bake for 25 minutes or until edges are brown.
  6. Allow to cool completely before cutting and removing foil from bottom.

*Adapted from Weight Watchers

19 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Breakfast

19 responses to “Fruit, Nut & Honey Bars

  1. These look great! I love making my own fruit and nut bars! 🙂

  2. These bars look really good, I’ll have to try them. I love the addition of blueberries too – those are one of my favorite fruits.

    I’m happy that you went to the Syracuse game to cheer them on. That was quite a nail-biter! 🙂

  3. OHMYGOSH those sound amazing! 😀 Do you think they would work with dates?

  4. Lindsey @ Gingerbread Bagels

    These bars look amazing!! I love the addition of dried blueberries in the bars. I’m definitely trying your recipe, thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. This one is the winner! Love how you made it, and I must say looks really delicious!

  6. These look so good! I love snack bars like these – would love to try it!

  7. Mom Kenyon

    It was wonderful having my girls home. The time always goes by soooo fast but we had a great time of baking. Can’t wait until the next time they can come home.

  8. I have to do a lot of traveling coming up and these are going to be perfect for mid-travel snacking! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  9. These sound yummy and I love that they are healthy! Hope you didn’t get caught in all that Upstate snow! Enjoy your day off 🙂

  10. Those look absolutely gorgeous! What a great recipe, sounds super yummy – Great job!

  11. These would be perfect for breakfast or even a snack and since they are healthy, no need to worry about gaining weight 😀

  12. Amy

    These bars sound chalk full of goodness! They are lovely as well with the jewel like fruits, yummy!

  13. These sound amazing Kara! I actually just got the WW magazine myself and saw those bars in there and was thinking about trying them.

  14. these bars look so irresistable! thanks for sharing this:)

  15. Oh, these look just incredible! Bookmarked!

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xx
    Delightful Bitefuls

  16. Sound like the perfect snack. Will be making these soon.

  17. Nikki

    love the sound of these! how many ww pts?

Leave a Reply

